Author |
Topic |
|
TERM
New Member
82 Posts |
Posted - 18 November 2002 : 16:19:24
|
My website has constant VIP awards and stuff like that, and I want to be able to add some different ranks for those people specifically, like maybe another 5-10 rankings would be nice, is this possible? |
Edited by - ruirib on 04 December 2002 22:48:40 |
|
ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin
Portugal
26364 Posts |
|
Shaggy
Support Moderator
Ireland
6780 Posts |
Posted - 19 November 2002 : 05:51:22
|
Is it just their titles you need to change? If so, would it be feasible for you to manually change their title by editing their profile? If this would be too much work and/or you need to change the stars as well then you're going to have to make some code changes, as Ruirib already pointed out.
-------- c ya in the funny books MeTV | Forums | Graphics | House Of Design | Snitz Bitz "Some cause happiness wherever they go; others, whenever they go." -------- |
|
|
osdd
New Member
Canada
54 Posts |
Posted - 02 December 2002 : 18:06:09
|
ruirib what area of the code do you have to change to do this because our forum has a emmediate need for this. becasue we use a military style of ranking. we also need to add a second Moderator type that has a different rank then the other type. can you please email me the info sent i'm also very busy tring to setup a webserver too. |
"Because I said so."
|
|
|
ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin
Portugal
26364 Posts |
Posted - 02 December 2002 : 19:47:33
|
First you need to add additional ranking level descriptions, number of posts required for each level and colors associated to each level, to FORUM_CONFIG_NEW table. Of course, you'd also need to change config.asp to load the string and number values related to each level and to the level colors.
Then you need to change the getMember_level and getStar_level functions in inc_func_member.asp. I think that would be basically it. Ah, you'd need also to edit admin_config_ranks.asp.
Adding a different moderator type is a completely different thing. I probably would recommend against that. That has nothing to do with rankings, but with different member levels (normal member, moderator and admin). It would be a more "serious" change, IMO. |
Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too |
Edited by - ruirib on 03 December 2002 00:06:20 |
|
|
osdd
New Member
Canada
54 Posts |
Posted - 03 December 2002 : 19:20:04
|
will we need the second moderator type because we have a diplomatic officer that has a different rank pic then the normal moderators that is why i was asking. i did notice while checking out theconfig and someother asp file the there was a commented out gobalmoderator. does any one have any idea how to activate this or do the above request. i'm still learning asp so i'm looking for help on this is any form |
"Because I said so."
|
|
|
ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin
Portugal
26364 Posts |
|
osdd
New Member
Canada
54 Posts |
Posted - 04 December 2002 : 19:14:23
|
but yet it is in the code in this file admin_config_ranks.asp
the second moderator type for us would have the exact powers a the orignal type but i need to have a different star color for them. |
"Because I said so."
|
Edited by - osdd on 04 December 2002 19:17:13 |
|
|
ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin
Portugal
26364 Posts |
Posted - 04 December 2002 : 19:30:25
|
That should be easy. You just need to change the getStar_Level in inc_func_member.asp, so that it tests the value of MemberID and if that MemberID is the one of your different moderator, assign the color you want. Have a look at the function. |
Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too |
|
|
osdd
New Member
Canada
54 Posts |
Posted - 04 December 2002 : 22:17:55
|
can you give me a hint at what i should be looking for please |
"Because I said so."
|
|
|
ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin
Portugal
26364 Posts |
Posted - 04 December 2002 : 22:47:30
|
Did you have a look at the function? Did you understand how the color of the stars is chosen?
Basically the choice of the colors is made based on the member level and then the number of posts for the specific member. That is done here:
select case fM_LEVEL
case "1"
if (fM_POSTS < cLng(intRankLevel1)) then Star_Level = ""
if (fM_POSTS >= cLng(intRankLevel1)) and (fM_POSTS < cLng(intRankLevel2)) then Star_Level = getCurrentIcon(getStarColor(strRankColor1),"","")
(...)
You should introduce an if statement before this so that if the MemberId is equal to your special member's id, you execute a similar code, to the one for each value of the member level, to set the desired color start value for that member, but do not execute the select statement, ok? |
Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too |
|
|
osdd
New Member
Canada
54 Posts |
Posted - 05 December 2002 : 00:08:40
|
i'll have to wait until i have sometime to look at it. i think i got the jest of it i'll keep you posted or if scream for help if i run into problems |
"Because I said so."
|
|
|
osdd
New Member
Canada
54 Posts |
Posted - 12 December 2002 : 16:51:13
|
Ruirub
I needs some help. did the above suggestions by you reguarding add a different pic but i was also atempting to ad that a a moderator by copying and pasting the moderator stuff and renaming it to what we want. i got that all done and i don't see any errors when viewing except that the new rank pic shows up for the admin and won't change and it is not allowing me to change the moderator pic to a different one from the DNO(the new moderator type). any suggestions? below are the links to the files i modified. the new rank changes is DNOmod
link to our:admin_config_ranks link to our:inc_func_member link to our:inc_profile |
"Because I said so."
|
|
|
osdd
New Member
Canada
54 Posts |
Posted - 15 December 2002 : 21:57:20
|
Guess no one is willing to help me with this problem |
"Because I said so."
|
|
|
zbenggg
Junior Member
Israel
227 Posts |
Posted - 16 December 2002 : 02:18:26
|
making member to DNO suddenly there is him status of administrator... |
I love Israel
|
|
|
osdd
New Member
Canada
54 Posts |
Posted - 16 December 2002 : 15:47:23
|
no his powers are that of a moderator still but the star pic that we use is now showing up for the Adminstrators. what we want is the admin to have there on pic. the DNO to have ther and the moderators to have their own. but the problem is that is not what is happening. can some please go throught the code i listed above and let me know where i screwed up
thanks OSDD Staff |
"Because I said so."
|
|
|
|
Topic |
|