Author |
Topic |
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 04 October 2002 : 13:54:46
|
No, I'm sorry and I really can't even begin to imagine setting that up at this point. i did, however, make a basic contentdisplay_tester.asp page that does close to the same thing. That might not be the answer you're looking for but I just do not have the ime right now.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
Rusty_yellowjeep
Starting Member
23 Posts |
Posted - 06 October 2002 : 00:01:52
|
Hi @tomic I check daily to see if you have this ready for download. I have spent hours installing a few mods on the newest forum and I have been working on this one for a long time but I can't get it going. Now I have really messed up my front page http://www.funinbc.com/index1.asp
I'll have to start all over again. I am not complaining, just what to find out if or when you will have the time to make this work.
It seems to push everything to the right.
Thanks for working on this and look forward to getting this going. |
Edited by - Rusty_yellowjeep on 06 October 2002 00:03:28 |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 06 October 2002 : 00:13:16
|
You should upload the new content.asp because I can tell just by looking at your links that you have an old version. There is no longer a link to link.asp for one.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
Rusty_yellowjeep
Starting Member
23 Posts |
Posted - 06 October 2002 : 11:12:43
|
Wow that worked great I only have two more questions
How do I get rid of the header at the top of the page
The mod has changed all of my font colours on the page how do I make work with just the content display
|
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 06 October 2002 : 11:34:59
|
There is nothing in the content display that changes font settings....anywhere. There was some bad HTML though and as I said, the new version should fix everything. That's really all there is to it.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
Bookie
Average Member
USA
856 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 19:31:02
|
@tomic, I downloaded the new versions of the files and applied them to my site. When I put in a value that will not return anything, such as displaying topics from a forum that doesn't have any topics, the footer gets included in the content table. If it returns records, the footer is outside of the content table like it's supposed to be.
Example: http://www.bookfamily.net/index2.asp
Is this because I am using this as main content for my page and not just an element on the page? |
Participate in my nonsense |
Edited by - Bookie on 07 October 2002 19:34:12 |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 19:46:05
|
quote: Is this because I am using this as main content for my page and not just an element on the page?
Heh, no it's called bad HTML. I know what part of the code generates that so I probably just need to add some closing tags there.
I also screwed up and forgot to fix the navigation links at the top of news.asp and article.asp(the ones with no left menu). The left menu versions have the right links to category.asp
Be looking for bookreview.asp, moviereview.asp soon. Any other ideas for content pages?
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
Bookie
Average Member
USA
856 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 20:00:05
|
FYI, I did a "This Day in History" where it retrieves topics where the title is equal to today's date (minus the year). It works well. Sorry if I've already posted that in this topic.
This works well for my site for genealogical information. Except I keep having to add those lines in every time you update the content.asp file! No big deal. It's only a couple lines.
Something like this could be used for a "Joke of the Day" or a "This Day in History" of general historical type stuff. Oh, what the heck... I'll post the code.
select case ContentType
case 0
strContentType = "T.CAT_ID"
case 1
strContentType = "T.FORUM_ID"
case 2
strContentType = "T.TOPIC_ID"
case 3
strContentType = "T.T_MSGICON"
case 4
strContentType = "T.T_AUTHOR"
'### Added for This Day in History
case 5
strContentType = "T.T_SUBJECT"
'#################################
case else ' use Forum
strContentType = "T.FORUM_ID"
end select
And this...
' Then specify criteria to select topics
if ContentID = 0 then
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strContentType & " > " & ContentID
'### Added for This Day in History
elseif ContentID = 5 then
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strContentType & " = '" & month(date) & "/" & day(date) & "' "
'#################################
else
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strContentType & " = " & ContentID
end if
The dates are in US format, month/day. You don't need to include this in your content.asp file but someone might want to use it for something so I posted it.
Also, @tomic, make sure that it really isn't "Bad HTML" and instead how and where I'm using it in the forum page. |
Participate in my nonsense |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 20:22:53
|
It shouldn't be too tough to include that code in a future version of this MOD. I will definately take a look at it.
Also, @tomic, make sure that it really isn't "Bad HTML" and instead how and where I'm using it in the forum page. The reason I suspect it's bad HTML is because I have seen that exact same footer issue time and time again. I also know that I didn't do a check for a forum that has no results(doh!). Shoot, and I just looked at the code and guess what? Double Doh! I commented out the code that would be shown if there are no records. I changed a bunch of stuff around so this is going to require more than a quick fix.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
Bookie
Average Member
USA
856 Posts |
|
Bookie
Average Member
USA
856 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 21:02:02
|
I added a couple lines to the following section. If "5" is chosen, it will choose topics that have the following as the title "10/7". If "55" is chosen (you can change them to whatever you want), any topic beginning with "10/7" will be chosen. For example, "10/7/2000 - Elvis is sited at the mall" would work.
' Then specify criteria to select topics
if ContentID = 0 then
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strContentType & " > " & ContentID
'### Added for This Day in History
elseif ContentID = 5 then
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strContentType & " = '" & month(date) & "/" & day(date) & "' "
elseif ContentID = 55 then
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strContentType & " LIKE '" & month(date) & "/" & day(date) & "%' "
'#################################
else
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strContentType & " = " & ContentID
end if
|
Participate in my nonsense |
|
|
Bookie
Average Member
USA
856 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 21:08:44
|
Now that I think about it, is there a way I could modify this WHERE statement to look at the T_EVENT_DATE field (I have the New Events Cal installed) and choose a date from there. Could I convert the YYYYMMDDHHMMSS to DD/MM format and select based on that field instead? I'm sure there is a way to do it but I wouldn't know how to convert the date format in the db to DD/MM. This would allow me to use the events calendar to do a This Day in History. |
Participate in my nonsense |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 21:21:01
|
I'm really not sure where to begin with the new event calendar. I like the old one too much to switch so I really haven't done more than look at how the new one functions.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
Bookie
Average Member
USA
856 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 21:52:21
|
I just realized that the lines I added in the second section for ContentID would cause problems if the Content ID (forum or topic or whatever) has the value of 5 or 55. Ooops. |
Participate in my nonsense |
|
|
Rusty_yellowjeep
Starting Member
23 Posts |
Posted - 07 October 2002 : 22:04:12
|
I tried to get rid of the header as it is not needed for my front page and I get the following error:
ADODB.Recordset error '800a0bb9'
Arguments are of the wrong type, are out of acceptable range, or are in conflict with one another.
/4x4talk/content.asp, line 122
Is there an easy fix ?
Thanks again |
|
|
Topic |
|