Author |
Topic |
al_iguana
Junior Member
138 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 05:26:46
|
try removing these bold bits from content.asp:
' ///////////////////// END MAIN LOOP //////////////
Response.Write " </table>" & vbNewLine & _
" </td>" & vbNewLine & _
" </tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" </table>" & vbNewLine & _
" </td>" & vbNewLine & _
" </tr>" & vbNewLine & _
"</table>" & vbNewLine
should fix the border issue
|
----
Don't Dream It ~ Be It http://www.peppermintiguana.co.uk/cymrugothic/ |
|
|
padawan
Junior Member
200 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 05:58:19
|
quote: Originally posted by al_iguana
try removing these bold bits from content.asp:
' ///////////////////// END MAIN LOOP //////////////
Response.Write " </table>" & vbNewLine & _
" </td>" & vbNewLine & _
" </tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" </table>" & vbNewLine & _
" </td>" & vbNewLine & _
" </tr>" & vbNewLine & _
"</table>" & vbNewLine
should fix the border issue
sir IGUANA,
Your input fixed the black liners. however the "new posts" column is still a bit wide (even after reducing it to 20% from DISPLAYCONTENT variable of sitenews.asp) any ideas on how i can shrink this column further(to fit 1024x768 screen)?
Also, for some reason, the footer on this one always want to retain a black background. the other pages are just fine.
...just this two and i promise to let you guys sleep for a hundred years... well, okay for another hour or two
BTW, I like your profile signature. It's like "The Army of One" (from U.S Army).
- padawan
|
"...be mindful of the SnitzForce..." |
Edited by - padawan on 19 October 2002 06:45:41 |
|
|
al_iguana
Junior Member
138 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 12:19:45
|
try this - a long shot, but it might sort out the footer. remove these red bits from content.asp:
Response.Write "<table width=""" & TableWidth & """ border=""0"" cellspacing=""0"" cellpadding=""0"" align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strHeadCellColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
"<tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"" width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <table width=""100%"" border=""0"" cellspacing=""1"" cellpadding=""0"" align=""center"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
might not work but its worth a shot
|
----
Don't Dream It ~ Be It http://www.peppermintiguana.co.uk/cymrugothic/ |
|
|
padawan
Junior Member
200 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 14:38:40
|
quote: Originally posted by al_iguana
try this - a long shot, but it might sort out the footer. remove these red bits from content.asp:
Response.Write "<table width=""" & TableWidth & """ border=""0"" cellspacing=""0"" cellpadding=""0"" align=""center"" bgcolor=""" & strHeadCellColor & """>" & vbNewLine & _
"<tr>" & vbNewLine & _
" <td valign=""top"" width=""100%"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <table width=""100%"" border=""0"" cellspacing=""1"" cellpadding=""0"" align=""center"">" & vbNewLine & _
" <tr>" & vbNewLine & _
might not work but its worth a shot
*in his best billy crystal imitation* AAAHHHAA! I see what you're doin... I see what you're doin. You, my lizard friend, are DA MAN! U DA MAN ! The black liner below IS GONE! I've got my footer back and my format looks a whole lot better. THANKS!!
Let me know when you're around NY and I'll treat you to a keg of Guinness!
Now, if I can only figure out how to decrease the width of my "new posts" column...
- padawan
|
"...be mindful of the SnitzForce..." |
Edited by - padawan on 19 October 2002 14:50:59 |
|
|
al_iguana
Junior Member
138 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 15:48:13
|
somewhere in your content.asp you have a width=99%. change this to width=100% and see if that sorts it. browsers have problems with 99% |
----
Don't Dream It ~ Be It http://www.peppermintiguana.co.uk/cymrugothic/ |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 16:19:17
|
The width is passed as a parameter. it is not hard coded. Check the instructions one the number you enter for the displayed width.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
padawan
Junior Member
200 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 17:45:25
|
quote: Originally posted by @tomic
The width is passed as a parameter. it is not hard coded. Check the instructions one the number you enter for the displayed width.
@tomic
sirs Iguana and @TOMIC,
You gentlemen are top notch!!! Your tireless dedication to helping others are to be commended. Thank you both! Our site will be without much 'life' without your untiring support.
I'll have a much closer look at my parameters in all the .ASP docs involved and get this one wrapped up...
Many thanks again!
With respects,
Padawan |
"...be mindful of the SnitzForce..." |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 17:48:00
|
TableWidth: Set the width you want the box to be Example = 500 Example = "95%" (percentage width)
It's this one from the first post in this topic.
@omic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
padawan
Junior Member
200 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 18:57:46
|
quote: Originally posted by @tomic
TableWidth: Set the width you want the box to be Example = 500 Example = "95%" (percentage width)
It's this one from the first post in this topic.
@omic
sir @tomic,
i've been playing around with this parameter since last night. i think i've messed with it so much that my thumb, i think, has developed biceps of its own...
i don't know... for some reason, the right column just won't budge no matter how i change this section. i've tried straight integers (0, 100, 150, 200, 500, even 1000!) and percentages (0%, 10%, 20%, 90%, 99% 100%). No dice. i've even tried changing the other columns to affect it, but it's as hard-shelled as an armadillo.
what do you think of looking to content.asp for answers i've been checking it out for variables that may affect it...
btw, don't worry about this one too much. others out there may have more important issues
thanks!
- padawan |
"...be mindful of the SnitzForce..." |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 20:21:15
|
It's probably the width of the cell holding content.asp then because the only width it will have is going to be either in the sub call or through how you designed your table. At least that's how it is supposed to work.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
padawan
Junior Member
200 Posts |
Posted - 19 October 2002 : 21:19:52
|
quote: Originally posted by @tomic
It's probably the width of the cell holding content.asp then because the only width it will have is going to be either in the sub call or through how you designed your table. At least that's how it is supposed to work.
@tomic
..just for kicks...
here's my:
content.asp
sitenews.asp
- for some reason, my preview is not showing sitenews.asp... here are the tail end strings, just in case.
----------- starts here ------------- <%'##################### END CENTER #####################%> <% Response.Write "</td>" & vbNewLine & _ "<td width=""200"" valign=""top"">" & vbNewLine %> <%'################### START RIGHT SIDE ###################%>
<% DisplayContent 0, 0, 2, 3, 0, 6, 120, 50, 5, 1, 2, 1, "Newest Posts", "20%", "topic.asp" %>
<%'################### END RIGHT SIDE ###################%>
<% Response.Write "</td>" & vbNewLine & _ "</tr>" & vbNewLine & _ "</table>" & vbNewLine & _ "</tr>" & vbNewLine & _ "</table>" & vbNewLine %> <!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_footer.asp" --> ---------- ends here -------------- here's how the right edge of the browser looks when the screen is maximized.
what do you think could it be?
- padawan
|
"...be mindful of the SnitzForce..." |
Edited by - padawan on 19 October 2002 21:25:23 |
|
|
Huntress
New Member
USA
96 Posts |
Posted - 21 October 2002 : 14:53:09
|
Wow Thanks! Great MOD!
I just implemented this on my newly upgraded (from snitz 3.3.03 to 3.4.03) forum only, then upgraded to Serverhacker.com forum/portal, using Access 2000.
Having a little problem, and was hoping you might give me some insight on where to look for trouble.
I used the following on my page:
<% DisplayContent 0, 0, 1, 8, 0, 6, 120, 50, 5, 0, 3, 1, "Recent Posts", "100%", "topic.asp" %>
As you can see I specified a Forum Status of 1 which should not show hidden or private forums, but I see the topics from forums designated as "Allowed Member List (Hidden)"
Any help appreciated!
|
There are 10 kinds of people, those that understand binary, and those that don't. |
|
|
Huntress
New Member
USA
96 Posts |
Posted - 21 October 2002 : 15:19:55
|
Found the problem myself...
The TopicStatus Case Statement in Content.asp needs to be changed to the following:
select case TopicStatus ' "Filter" based on Topic Status - Open, closed or both
case 0
strSql = strSql & " AND T.T_STATUS = 0 AND F.F_PRIVATEFORUMS <> 0"
case 1
strSql = strSql & " AND T.T_STATUS = 1 AND F.F_PRIVATEFORUMS = 0"
case 2
' do nothing - select all topics
case else
' do nothing - select all topics
end select
One note, if it matters, the version of Content Display I am using has the following in the read-me file (I *THINK* this is the most current version):
Updated September 22, 2002 (3.4.02.06)
Content Display 3.4.03
For Snitz 3.4.02+
|
There are 10 kinds of people, those that understand binary, and those that don't. |
Edited by - Huntress on 21 October 2002 15:24:23 |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 21 October 2002 : 15:37:15
|
Thanks. I hope that fixes the security issue. I have noted in the first post in this topic that security is more than iffy regarding this MOD right now. I personally haver no confidence in it hiding hidden forums. This might do it but it will require further testing before I take warning off the top post.
For all of you using this MOD I will say again that your hidden forums may not be hidden if you use this MOD in production. I see it going into other MODs and sites as if it is not a beta but I didn't call it a beta without reason. There is still a lot to do before I feel comfortable.
I do appreciate any and all ideas for improvement.
Oh, and your version is the most recent Huntress. I have messed up with the versioning again. Thank you for pointing that out.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
Edited by - @tomic on 21 October 2002 15:38:15 |
|
|
Huntress
New Member
USA
96 Posts |
Posted - 21 October 2002 : 16:03:15
|
LOL
I didn't know what you meant by security... in fact I was iffy on even looking at this MOD because of that statement, to the case of looking at many other mods before coming back to this one. Had I know you meant only the Private forums, I wouldn't of waited
I hadn't read this topic through either, and landed up downloading this based off of some other topic on this forum (or another??? Can't remember at this point).
Anyway, thanks again for a great mod! |
There are 10 kinds of people, those that understand binary, and those that don't. |
|
|
Topic |
|