Author |
Topic |
|
kwhipp
Junior Member
USA
407 Posts |
Posted - 03 September 2002 : 13:43:19
|
For consistancy throughout the forum, beginning on line 307 of inc_subscription.asp, you may consider changing the following code.
if CatID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "BOARD"
else
LinkParam = "&CAT_ID=" & CatID
if ForumID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "CAT"
else
LinkParam = LinkParam & "&FORUM_ID=" & ForumID
if TopicID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "FORUM"
else
LinkLevel = "TOPIC" : LinkParam = LinkParam & "&TOPIC_ID=" & TopicID
end if
end if
end if
To this:
if CatID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "Board"
else
LinkParam = "&CAT_ID=" & CatID
if ForumID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "Category"
else
LinkParam = LinkParam & "&FORUM_ID=" & ForumID
if TopicID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "Forum"
else
LinkLevel = "Topic" : LinkParam = LinkParam & "&TOPIC_ID=" & TopicID
end if
end if
end if
|
- Kevin |
Edited by - kwhipp on 06 September 2002 19:06:04 |
|
davemaxwell
Access 2000 Support Moderator
USA
3020 Posts |
Posted - 03 September 2002 : 14:29:31
|
I don't think that's necessary. The items you spelled out are merely parameters.... |
Dave Maxwell Barbershop Harmony Freak |
|
|
kwhipp
Junior Member
USA
407 Posts |
Posted - 03 September 2002 : 14:42:33
|
They are parameters that are used in output test strings. If you have subscriptions activated, all of the links and hover-over text use these text strings. It looks a little odd with only these words in all cap. |
- Kevin |
|
|
Deleted
deleted
4116 Posts |
Posted - 03 September 2002 : 18:38:48
|
In v4, I changed that code part to the following (it is a must for making it translatable):
This is in inc_subscription.asp, starting about from line 300, in Function ShowSubLink (SubOption, CatID, ForumID, TopicID, ShowText)
' -- Get appropriate text and icon to display
LinkParam = ""
if CatID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "BOARD"
else
LinkParam = "&CAT_ID=" & CatID
if ForumID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "CAT"
else
LinkParam = LinkParam & "&FORUM_ID=" & ForumID
if TopicID = 0 then
LinkLevel = "FORUM"
else
LinkLevel = "TOPIC" : LinkParam = LinkParam & "&TOPIC_ID=" & TopicID
end if
end if
end if
if SubOption = "U" then
LinkIcon = strIconUnsubscribe
select case LinkLevel
case "BOARD" LinkText = "Unsubscribe from this board"
case "CAT" LinkText = "Unsubscribe from this category"
case "FORUM" LinkText = "Unsubscribe from this forum"
case "TOPIC" LinkText = "Unsubscribe from this topic"
end select
else
LinkIcon = strIconSubscribe
select case LinkLevel
case "BOARD" LinkText = "Subscribe to this board"
case "CAT" LinkText = "Subscribe to this category"
case "FORUM" LinkText = "Subscribe to this forum"
case "TOPIC" LinkText = "Subscribe to this topic"
end select
end if
ShowSubLink = StandardLinkInfo & LinkLevel & LinkParam & "')"">" & getCurrentIcon(LinkIcon, LinkText ,"align=""absmiddle""") & "</a>"
if ShowText <> "N" then
ShowSubLink = ShowSubLink & " " & StandardLinkInfo & LinkLevel & LinkParam & "')"">" & DefaultFont & LinkText & "</font></a>"
end if
|
Stop the WAR! |
|
|
kwhipp
Junior Member
USA
407 Posts |
Posted - 03 September 2002 : 21:21:06
|
Sorry if there is any confusion. I'm talking abount version 3.4.02. |
- Kevin |
|
|
ajhvdb
Junior Member
Netherlands
392 Posts |
Posted - 04 September 2002 : 02:47:19
|
I agree with subscriptions enabled it doesn't look good. In every update I change them. Hope they noted this and in the next version it's gone. |
|
|
kwhipp
Junior Member
USA
407 Posts |
Posted - 05 September 2002 : 20:10:12
|
bozden -
Would this be okay?
Add the following function to inc_func_common.asp (around line 500)Function PCase(strInput)
Dim iPosition
Dim iSpace
Dim strOutput
iPosition = 1
Do While InStr(iPosition, strInput, " ", 1) <> 0
iSpace = InStr(iPosition, strInput, " ", 1)
strOutput = strOutput & UCase(Mid(strInput, iPosition, 1))
strOutput = strOutput & LCase(Mid(strInput, iPosition + 1, iSpace - iPosition))
iPosition = iSpace + 1
Loop
strOutput = strOutput & UCase(Mid(strInput, iPosition, 1))
strOutput = strOutput & LCase(Mid(strInput, iPosition + 1))
PCase = strOutput
End Function
Then add the red text indicated below in inc_subscription.asp (around line 324) ShowSubLink = ShowSubLink & " " & StandardLinkInfo & LinkLevel & LinkParam & "')"">" & DefaultFont & LinkText & pcase(LinkLevel) & "</font></a>"
I forgot this one, add the red text indicated below in inc_subscription.asp (around line 322) ShowSubLink = StandardLinkInfo & LinkLevel & LinkParam & "')"">" & getCurrentIcon(LinkIcon, LinkText & pcase(LinkLevel),"align=""absmiddle""") & "</a>"
|
- Kevin |
Edited by - kwhipp on 06 September 2002 13:46:54 |
|
|
Deleted
deleted
4116 Posts |
Posted - 06 September 2002 : 16:47:30
|
For me it is not a solution. The rule of thumb in international software is this: "Do not use program related data as direct output". These uppercase strings are meant as parameters, but they are also used as strings. What I need is to get rid of this usage.
There is also another case with Gender info which is bugging me. The data is kept as "male" and "female", used in if-then logic, and output in select/case, used in mods etc.
Also, with v3.4.x, you can just replace "BOARD" with "Board", but Everywhere in that fýnction (also in select case & if-then statements). There is no need of such a function...
|
Stop the WAR! |
|
|
kwhipp
Junior Member
USA
407 Posts |
Posted - 06 September 2002 : 19:07:35
|
Richard Kinser -
Do you think these text string could be changed to proper case in v3.4.03? |
- Kevin |
|
|
RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin
USA
16655 Posts |
Posted - 06 September 2002 : 19:28:00
|
It's already been changed to the way Bozden has it above. |
|
|
kwhipp
Junior Member
USA
407 Posts |
Posted - 06 September 2002 : 19:33:05
|
quote: Originally posted by RichardKinser
It's already been changed to the way Bozden has it above.
Thank you. Sorry to bother. |
- Kevin |
|
|
RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin
USA
16655 Posts |
Posted - 09 September 2002 : 06:06:34
|
implemented in v3.4.03 |
|
|
|
Topic |
|