Author |
Topic |
pentiummx
New Member
79 Posts |
Posted - 29 September 2002 : 09:49:28
|
quote: Originally posted by Nikkol
You're getting 404 because it's redirecting to login.asp. The redirection is part of the inc_header code. It's probably best to have a inc_header that is separate from the one inside the forum folder.
...interesting...
should i then put an inc_header.asp in the same location as that of index.asp? wouldn't it be easier to modify inc_header (who's doing the redirecting) to have the absolute path of the forum folder (to login.asp)? |
|
|
pentiummx
New Member
79 Posts |
Posted - 29 September 2002 : 10:05:34
|
quote: Originally posted by pentiummx
quote: Originally posted by Nikkol
You're getting 404 because it's redirecting to login.asp. The redirection is part of the inc_header code. It's probably best to have a inc_header that is separate from the one inside the forum folder.
...interesting...
should i then put an inc_header.asp in the same location as that of index.asp? wouldn't it be easier to modify inc_header (who's doing the redirecting) to have the absolute path of the forum folder (to login.asp)?
i've played around with inc_header.asp and i managed to get something other than a '404.' however, what it does now is totally redirect from /beta to /beta/forum prior to a 'login' being executed (from /beta) -- which is the whole point of this exercise. |
|
|
Nikkol
Forum Moderator
USA
6907 Posts |
Posted - 29 September 2002 : 10:34:16
|
Yes, because there is a chuck chunk of code in the inc_header for the forum that if you require registration and the username is empty it will redirect to login.asp ... you would need to take that chuck chunk out of the inc_header you are using outside the forum (assuming you have a separate inc_header). It's the chuck chunk that starts with
if strRequireReg = "1" and strDBNTUserName = "" then You'll see response.redirect to login.asp within that block.
<edit>hehe - people are probably thinking what the heck is a chuck.</edit> |
Nikkol ~ Help Us Help You | ReadMe | 3.4.03 fixes | security fixes ~ |
Edited by - Nikkol on 29 September 2002 10:44:13 |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 29 September 2002 : 16:43:03
|
Couldn't you also add this?
if strRequireReg = "1" and strDBNTUserName = "" then
if not Instr(strScriptName,"policy.asp") > 0 and _
not Instr(strScriptName,"register.asp") > 0 and _
not Instr(strScriptName,"password.asp") > 0 and _
not Instr(strScriptName,"faq.asp") > 0 and _
not Instr(strScriptName,"login.asp") > 0 then
not Instr(strScriptName,"index.asp") > 0 then
And if you can do it is it safe?
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 29 September 2002 : 16:58:25
|
I have updated the file with the ForumURL info. Does this readme style make it any easier?
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
PAStreets
Starting Member
18 Posts |
Posted - 29 September 2002 : 23:48:55
|
does anyone have the finished code that will work? I have been trying all weekend any nothing. |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 30 September 2002 : 01:06:19
|
quote: does anyone have the finished code that will work? I have been trying all weekend any nothing.
It's been working just fine for me for more than a month.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 30 September 2002 : 04:17:45
|
I did somehow lose the last part of this setup when I was redoing the readme. The final step is to set your cookies to "Website" rather than "Forum" in your main forum configuration.
I have tested this MOD outside the forum and have no problems. You may need to delete your old cookies after doing this last step.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
alex042
Average Member
USA
631 Posts |
Posted - 30 September 2002 : 09:03:04
|
quote: does anyone have the finished code that will work? I have been trying all weekend any nothing.
This MOD has seemed to work fine for me for the past few days, but I also removed the forum links from the header & inserted banner code instead to create a custom header for pages outside the forum.
|
|
|
pentiummx
New Member
79 Posts |
Posted - 30 September 2002 : 14:06:03
|
quote: Originally posted by alex042
quote: does anyone have the finished code that will work? I have been trying all weekend any nothing.
This MOD has seemed to work fine for me for the past few days, but I also removed the forum links from the header & inserted banner code instead to create a custom header for pages outside the forum.
Alex and @TOMIC:
Would you mind if I view (zipped file should be fine) your main page, inc_login.asp, inc_header.asp, default.asp and any other .asp pages you have had to modify to get this MOD to work on your site? I'd like to compare your files to mine and see what I'm missing. I've followed the README to the hilt but have been unsuccessful to-date to deploy this on my beta site.
Thanks for the help.
PentiumMX |
|
|
pentiummx
New Member
79 Posts |
Posted - 01 October 2002 : 00:30:27
|
quote: Originally posted by pentiummx
quote: Originally posted by alex042
quote: does anyone have the finished code that will work? I have been trying all weekend any nothing.
This MOD has seemed to work fine for me for the past few days, but I also removed the forum links from the header & inserted banner code instead to create a custom header for pages outside the forum.
Alex and @TOMIC:
Would you mind if I view (zipped file should be fine) your main page, inc_login.asp, inc_header.asp, default.asp and any other .asp pages you have had to modify to get this MOD to work on your site? I'd like to compare your files to mine and see what I'm missing. I've followed the README to the hilt but have been unsuccessful to-date to deploy this on my beta site.
Thanks for the help.
PentiumMX
@tomic,
I haven't given up on this one yet. Will you let me view your working .asp (inc_login, inc_header, default, inc_footer, etc) pages so that I have something to compare my work (mistakes) on? No hurries. Just let me know if this is not possible and I'll try to find another means to troubleshoot forward.
glad you're around to help.
PentiumMX |
|
|
@tomic
Senior Member
USA
1790 Posts |
Posted - 01 October 2002 : 01:28:14
|
I'm sorry. I will zip those up and send them to you. I simply used a page in my Content Display MOD zip(contentdisplay_tester.asp) since it had only the includes and the content display MOD. I added inc_login, threw it in my root and it worked perfectly. That contentdisplay_tester.asp page is becoming my test for everything since there is nothing to complicate testing. it is simply some includes and whatever MOD I want to test.
@tomic |
SportsBettingAcumen.com |
|
|
pentiummx
New Member
79 Posts |
Posted - 01 October 2002 : 15:45:23
|
quote: Originally posted by @tomic
I'm sorry. I will zip those up and send them to you. I simply used a page in my Content Display MOD zip(contentdisplay_tester.asp) since it had only the includes and the content display MOD. I added inc_login, threw it in my root and it worked perfectly. That contentdisplay_tester.asp page is becoming my test for everything since there is nothing to complicate testing. it is simply some includes and whatever MOD I want to test.
@tomic
thanks, mate! |
|
|
digmind
Junior Member
Greece
177 Posts |
Posted - 09 October 2002 : 05:15:27
|
@tomic,
grats on the mod, i downloaded one but think it's an older version, where do you have the latest you have out? also do you have a copy of a stripped down inc_header? i did this yesterday and cleaned out several placec, ended up with a good inc_headern.asp that has place for a title banner and some varying links, but somehting i took out wants in. also
when i do the redirect i have it going to a mainadmin page and if the mlvl is below 4 then redirecting to home1.asp. i did this before in the inc_login for 3.3.05 but can't get it for his one. i had packed things into sessions
like this
set rsLogin = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Recordset") rsLogin.ActiveConnection = my_Conn rsLogin.Source = "SELECT * FROM FORUM_MEMBERS WHERE M_NAME='" + Replace(rsLogin__strM_NAME, "'", "''") + "' AND M_PASSWORD='" + Replace(rsLogin__strM_PASSWORD, "'", "''") + "'" rsLogin.CursorType = 0 rsLogin.CursorLocation = 2 rsLogin.LockType = 3 rsLogin.Open() rsLogin_numRows = 0 %>
<% If rsLogin__strM_NAME <> "xyz" Then If Not rsLogin.EOF Then Session("svM_NAME") = (rsLogin.Fields.Item("M_NAME").Value) Session("svM_PASSWORD") = (rsLogin.Fields.Item("M_PASSWORD").Value) Session("svM_LEVEL") = (rsLogin.Fields.Item("M_LEVEL").Value) Session("svM_FIRSTNAME") = (rsLogin.Fields.Item("M_FIRSTNAME").Value) Session("svM_LASTNAME") = (rsLogin.Fields.Item("M_LASTNAME").Value) Session("svM_LEVEL") = (rsLogin.Fields.Item("M_LEVEL").Value) Session("svM_LASTHEREDATE") = (rsLogin.Fields.Item("M_LASTHEREDATE").Value) Response.Redirect "mainadmin.asp" Else Response.Redirect "html/Stop.htm" End If End If %>
any ideas on how i should do this with the new 3.4?
ohh, i posted this also in another topic as i couldn't find this string was at an internet cafe, if any of the upper uses would like to toast the other post, again sorry bout that..
DigMind |
is it 4:20? |
|
|
Darkness
Junior Member
Italy
145 Posts |
Posted - 11 October 2002 : 06:48:35
|
Hi all. My question is very simply. I want to put login box exacly as it is in my index.asp page forum is in /forum
Can any1 help me? Tnx |
|
|
Topic |
|