Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Front Page News v.01
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 13 July 2002 :  20:02:29  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
Mod Name: Front page news Mod
Version: v.01
Tested on: 3.3.05 only should work with any 3.3.x forums though
Databases: Only tested on MySQL v3.23.40NT
Creator Name: Wesley Brown
Creator Email: Burthold@yahoo.com
Download at: www.wesworld.net/mods/newsmod.zip
View at: www.wesworld.net/texastgc/default.asp

I wrote this to just display simple news on the front page.

Run the DBS or execute this query against your forums database.
You may need to change the table name to reflect your table name
struct you should leave the news part of the table alone.
This does not effect any other table in your database.

create table forum_news (n_text varchar(250), n_date datetime, member_id int)

Just copy these files into your forums directory insert into
default.asp around line 43
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_news_body.asp" -->
after
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_top.asp" -->

Insert this into admin_home.asp
<LI><a href="admin_newspost.asp">Add News</a></LI>
around line 70 where you will find this:
<LI><a href="admin_config_badwords.asp">Bad Word Feature Configuration</a></LI>


Also, in this archive is a copy of HuwR's (Huw Reddick) admin_mod_dbsetup.asp
YOU DO NOT NEED TO COPY THIS FILE IF YOU DON'T WANT TO!!!!!
YOU DO NOT NEED TO COPY THIS FILE IF YOU DON'T WANT TO!!!!!
Very minor change for MySQL support
Check around line number 228
strSql = "CREATE TABLE " & TablePrefix & strTableName & "( "
Added a space at &" ( " to make it comliant with MySQL CREATE TABLE spec

I am providing this mod without any real support. I wrote it quick and dirty to give me quick news on the front page.

Wesley Brown


Classicmotorcycling
Development Team Leader

Australia
2084 Posts

Posted - 13 July 2002 :  21:31:41  Show Profile
Burthold,

Must only work with MySQL as it doesn't work with Access. Anyone else tried this mod?


Regards,

Webmaster @ Classic Motorycling Australia
Classic Motorcycling Australia
Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 13 July 2002 :  21:34:22  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
I'll check into it I only run mysql but I did make a provision for MS-SQL I assumed that it would work with access if it works with MS-SQL.

Wes

Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 13 July 2002 :  21:50:44  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
Can you tell me what it did or didn't do? Any errors?

Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 13 July 2002 :  22:06:48  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
My bad I forgot to include the two functions needed. New files will be going up in about 30min

Wes

Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 13 July 2002 :  22:15:12  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage

Mod Name: Front page news Mod
Version: v.01
Tested on: 3.3.05 only should work with any 3.3.x forums though
Databases: Only tested on MySQL v3.23.40NT
Creator Name: Wesley Brown
Creator Email: Burthold@yahoo.com
Download at: www.wesworld.net/mods/newsmod.zip
View at: www.wesworld.net/texastgc/default.asp

I wrote this to just display simple news on the front page.

Run the DBS or execute this query against your forums database
you may need to change the table name to reflect your table name
struct you should leave the news part of the table alone

create table forum_news (n_text varchar(250), n_date datetime, member_id int)

Just copy these files into your forums directory insert into
default.asp around line 43
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_news_body.asp" -->
after
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_top.asp" -->

Insert this into admin_home.asp
<LI><a href="admin_newspost.asp">Add News</a></LI>
around line 70 where you will find this:
<LI><a href="admin_config_badwords.asp">Bad Word Feature Configuration</a></LI>

Insert CODE TO PASTE into inc_functions.asp at around line 2093
between
End Function
and before this sub call
Sub WriteFooter() %>
<!--#INCLUDE FILE="inc_footer.asp"-->
<% end sub %>

CODE TO PASTE:

'news poster
Function WriteNews(fVariable)
WriteNews = "added"
dim ndate
ndate = year(now())&"-"&month(now())&"-"&day(now())&" "&hour(now())&":"&minute(now())&":"&second(now())
my_conn.execute ( "INSERT INTO " & strTablePrefix & "news (n_text,n_date,member_id) VALUES ('" & fVariable & "','"&ndate&"',1)")

End function
'end news poster

function SQLparse(s)
'*********************************************
'* This just does a charater replacement on my
'* insert and update sections
'* so I don't blow up the database.
'* Wes Brown
'*********************************************
dim tmp

tmp = s

tmp = replace(tmp, "’", "'")
tmp = replace(tmp, "`", "'")
tmp = replace(tmp, "'", "''")

SQLparse = tmp
'SQLparse end
end function





Also, in this archive is a copy of HuwR's (Huw Reddick) admin_mod_dbsetup.asp
YOU DO NOT NEED TO COPY THIS FILE IF YOU DON'T WANT TO!!!!!
YOU DO NOT NEED TO COPY THIS FILE IF YOU DON'T WANT TO!!!!!
Very minor change for MySQL support
Check around line number 228
strSql = "CREATE TABLE " & TablePrefix & strTableName & "( "
Added a space at &" ( " to make it comliant with MySQL CREATE TABLE spec

I am providing this mod without any real support. I wrote it quick and dirty to give me quick news on the front page.

All this is in the Readme.txt

Wesley Brown


Go to Top of Page

Classicmotorcycling
Development Team Leader

Australia
2084 Posts

Posted - 13 July 2002 :  23:06:54  Show Profile
Burthold,

It works now. Just needed that function..

Are you going to create it so you can delete old news items in the admin side of it?

Thought that i might as well ask.

Regards,

Webmaster @ Classic Motorycling Australia
Classic Motorcycling Australia
Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 14 July 2002 :  00:18:49  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
Just cut and paste the code I put up into your inc_functions.asp or download the updated zip file and cut and past it out of there :)

Wes

Go to Top of Page

Etymon
Advanced Member

United States
2385 Posts

Posted - 15 July 2002 :  22:28:47  Show Profile  Visit Etymon's Homepage

Am looking forward to trying this out! Thanks, burthold!


Cheers,

Etymon

Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 18 July 2002 :  14:31:18  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
Your welcome. If you have any questions just drop me a line.

Wes

Go to Top of Page

aviv
Junior Member

474 Posts

Posted - 18 July 2002 :  17:26:47  Show Profile  Visit aviv's Homepage
Where can i delete the news after i want to replace it?


ThanX
Aviv
Hebrew Snitz support center
Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 18 July 2002 :  18:33:03  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
I haven't built a news deleter it only shows the top 4 current news post. I am working on an admin deleter now.

Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 18 July 2002 :  20:53:06  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
There is a new admin_newspost.asp in the zip file that allows you to delete selected news post.

http://www.wesworld.net/mods/newspost.asp

Go to Top of Page

aviv
Junior Member

474 Posts

Posted - 19 July 2002 :  02:29:10  Show Profile  Visit aviv's Homepage
i downloaded the new admin_newspost.asp but it seems to
be the same.


ThanX
Aviv
Hebrew Snitz support center
Go to Top of Page

burthold
Junior Member

USA
426 Posts

Posted - 19 July 2002 :  09:08:33  Show Profile  Visit burthold's Homepage
I re uploaded it. all should be the same except the admin_newspost.asp. I looked at the zip pack and the file is there for sure now.

Wes

Go to Top of Page

aviv
Junior Member

474 Posts

Posted - 20 July 2002 :  14:12:27  Show Profile  Visit aviv's Homepage
It's working now but the problem is that when you write a long message
it's twisting the forum.because it's only on one line.


ThanX
Aviv
Hebrew Snitz support center
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.18 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07