Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Active Users Updated With Ip Viewing for Admin's
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 16

RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin

USA
16655 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  05:04:19  Show Profile
Capt Dunzell,

Try this:

In the code that you added to <b>inc_top.asp</b>

Look for this:

<font size=1><pre id=code><font face=courier size=2 id=code>' SET WHEN TO TIMEOUT THE USER
' DO THIS IN SECONDS
strOnlineDate = DateToStr(Date)
strOnlineCheckInTime = DateToStr(Now())</font id=code></pre id=code></font id=size1>

Change it to this:

<font size=1><pre id=code><font face=courier size=2 id=code>' SET WHEN TO TIMEOUT THE USER
' DO THIS IN SECONDS
strOnlineDate = DateToStr(strForumTimeAdjust)
strOnlineCheckInTime = DateToStr(strForumTimeAdjust)</font id=code></pre id=code></font id=size1>

Now just download this file:

http://www11.ewebcity.com/dssdbs/files/active_users_fixed.zip

I also changed it so that it will show the dates in the format that you have chosen for the rest of the dates on your forum.
Go to Top of Page

Capt_Dunzell
Junior Member

USA
160 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  11:11:44  Show Profile  Visit Capt_Dunzell's Homepage
Outstanding!

Works perfectly!

Thank you Richard!! <img src=icon_smile_big.gif border=0 align=middle>

http://www.dunzellsden.com/forum/
Go to Top of Page

Hopper
Junior Member

192 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  11:15:02  Show Profile  Send Hopper an ICQ Message
Still not seeing the user IP. Did this ever get fixed.

Go to Top of Page

RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin

USA
16655 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  11:24:10  Show Profile
Hopper, try downloading the file again.

then run the setup again as it adds a field to the database to hold the IP #.
Go to Top of Page

Hopper
Junior Member

192 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  11:42:44  Show Profile  Send Hopper an ICQ Message
Ok, a few things on this.. first, when someone logs off it should remove them from the online list.. right now it leaves them in the online list until they time out (default 11 minutes later). Is there a better way to tell if they are still online? How much processor time would it take to fully rebuild the list every time the active users page is refreshed/reloaded.

Good news is, the IPS are showing up *laugh*


Edited by - Hopper on 21 December 2000 12:22:19
Go to Top of Page

bugzy
Junior Member

USA
147 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  12:54:04  Show Profile  Visit bugzy's Homepage
would be nice if it was easy to convert IP to domain names

Go to Top of Page

RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin

USA
16655 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  13:25:37  Show Profile
bugzy,

Here is how you can do that:

open the <b>active_users_setup.asp</b>

find this line:

<font size=1><pre id=code><font face=courier size=2 id=code> strSql = strSql & "UserIP varchar (<font color=red>40</font id=red>) , "</font id=code></pre id=code></font id=size1>

change the <font color=red>40</font id=red> to a higher #, probably 100 will do.

Then re-rerun the active_users_setup.asp so that the database will be updated.

Now, in the code that you added to <b>inc_top.asp</b>

Find this line:

<font size=1><pre id=code><font face=courier size=2 id=code>strOnlineUserIP = Request.ServerVariables("<font color=red>REMOTE_ADDR</font id=red>")</font id=code></pre id=code></font id=size1>

change <font color=red>REMOTE_ADDR</font id=red> to <b>REMOTE_HOST</b>

What this will do is to show the domain name if it exists. If not it will just show the IP #.

Like my IP address isn't registered to a domain name so either way mine always shows up as the IP #.
Go to Top of Page

frankie
Junior Member

Vatican City
304 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  18:54:57  Show Profile  Visit frankie's Homepage  Send frankie an AOL message  Send frankie an ICQ Message  Send frankie a Yahoo! Message
Richard,

How is it done to make the active users

names shown in the default page link to their

profile? if you have time though!! <img src=icon_smile.gif border=0 align=middle>

ô¿~
Go to Top of Page

RichardKinser
Snitz Forums Admin

USA
16655 Posts

Posted - 21 December 2000 :  19:29:18  Show Profile
Here ya go: http://www11.ewebcity.com/dssdbs/files/active_users_addons2.zip

It's the same 3 files but I've added Profile Links to each Online Users name.
Go to Top of Page

HuwR
Forum Admin

United Kingdom
20584 Posts

Posted - 22 December 2000 :  03:49:21  Show Profile  Visit HuwR's Homepage
<BLOCKQUOTE id=quote><font size=1 face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id=quote>quote:<hr height=1 noshade id=quote>
Ok, a few things on this.. first, when someone logs off it should remove them from the online list.. right now it leaves them in the online list until they time out (default 11 minutes later). Is there a better way to tell if they are still online? How much processor time would it take to fully rebuild the list every time the active users page is refreshed/reloaded.

Good news is, the IPS are showing up *laugh*


Edited by - Hopper on 21 December 2000 12:22:19
<hr height=1 noshade id=quote></BLOCKQUOTE id=quote></font id=quote><font face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" size=2 id=quote>

This will only work if they physically logout by hitting the logout graphic.

In inc_top.asp, look for
<pre id=code><font face=courier size=2 id=code><b>
case "logout"
Call ClearCookies()</b>
</font id=code></pre id=code>

add the following imediately after the <font color=blue>call ClearCookies</font id=blue>, and above the <font color=blue>end select</font id=blue>
<pre id=code><font face=courier size=2 id=code><b>
'delete online user if exists
SQL = "DELETE FROM " & strTablePrefix & "ONLINE WHERE " & strTablePrefix & "ONLINE.UserID = '" & strDBNTUserName & "'"
my_conn.Execute SQL</b>
</font id=code></pre id=code>




<font color=blue>'Resistance is futile'</font id=blue>
Go to Top of Page

bugzy
Junior Member

USA
147 Posts

Posted - 22 December 2000 :  18:24:32  Show Profile  Visit bugzy's Homepage
Richard, the ip to domain isnt working for me
did as you told me hmmm

Go to Top of Page

Davio
Development Team Member

Jamaica
12217 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2000 :  17:40:48  Show Profile
Still getting this error:<pre id=code><font face=courier size=2 id=code>Microsoft VBScript compilation error '800a03ea'
Syntax error
/beta/31_sr2/inc_top.asp, line 55
Function OnlineSQLencode(byVal strPass)
^</font id=code></pre id=code>Matthew had reported getting this error also but didn't see a fix posted for it. Installing it on v3.1 sr2.

<center><font color=green>*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*
<font size=2>"To Get To Heaven,
It's Who You Know That Counts."</font id=size2>
*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*</font id=green></center>
Go to Top of Page

rick7165
Senior Member

USA
1094 Posts

Posted - 23 December 2000 :  20:04:35  Show Profile  Visit rick7165's Homepage
Hi.. I need some help setting up Active Users and Who's Online. Also want to display number of Registered Users.
I'm running the Snitz forum with the update in it. Also it's running off a Access 2000 database.
I've read everything in here and nothing seems to work :( I'm not good with ASP I'm a just starting to learn it... So be easy on me. :)

Please let me know if you can help
Email me at rick@rick7165.com

Thanks
Rick



Go to Top of Page

redbrad0
Advanced Member

USA
3725 Posts

Posted - 24 December 2000 :  10:54:48  Show Profile  Visit redbrad0's Homepage  Send redbrad0 an AOL message
Davio,

It seems that when something in the script is using the SQLOnlineencode its either passing no information to it, or is passing to much. the only way i can see for you to fix it is in the Function put the following line...

Function OnlineSQLencode(byVal strPass)
Response.Write("test-" & strPass & "<br>")

That way it will output what is being passed by the OnlineSQLencode

Brad

Brad
Go to Top of Page

Davio
Development Team Member

Jamaica
12217 Posts

Posted - 24 December 2000 :  16:46:22  Show Profile
redbrad, it doesn't pass that first line "Function OnlineSQLencode(byVal strPass)". It throws the error and doesn't continue, so it doesn't even reach the "Response.Write" command.

<center><font color=green>*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*
<font size=2>"To Get To Heaven,
It's Who You Know That Counts."</font id=size2>
*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*----*</font id=green></center>
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 16 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.17 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07