Author |
Topic |
chief77
Junior Member
New Zealand
114 Posts |
Posted - 07 September 2002 : 19:45:52
|
Personally, I don't think it should call "active users" if it can't really provide a list of real-time active users. With timed-out period, you will be seeing "ghosts" still lurking around your forums, and when you hope they are there... whiche in actual fact, they may not be there anymore due to the timed-out period before the forum_online table will flush out the "dead" visitors.
I still think Nathan should take a step deeper in looking at using application.session object for providing real time update
Kel.
quote: Originally posted by masterao
quote: Originally posted by Lydecker
Can someone hit me with what a good value for 'active users time out' is?
Thanks
That is totally depending on what kind if website you are running. I would suggest 5-10 minutes, but make the decision based upon how long is a visitor viewing a typical page? If you have long articles that your visitors read, then they are online for that whole time (i.e. a high timeout value), if the articles are short and concise, you can set a low timeout value.
Don't set
|
|
|
masterao
Senior Member
Sweden
1678 Posts |
Posted - 08 September 2002 : 07:27:37
|
Why is session variables more accurate than the current version? You must still load a page to be active when using sessions, and you will still be listed as active until the session times out.
Besides, why use sessions when you don't have to?
|
Jan =========== FR Portal Forums | Active Users 4.0.20 Mod |
|
|
chief77
Junior Member
New Zealand
114 Posts |
Posted - 08 September 2002 : 07:36:31
|
session object will check if so and so is still in board, and if that person isn't then it is removed from the session object variable and hence a more realtime update.
where as with the database, it's only removed when the timedout period is reached.
Kel. |
|
|
masterao
Senior Member
Sweden
1678 Posts |
Posted - 08 September 2002 : 09:05:43
|
The session object tracks the visitor only when the visitor loads a page. If the visitor views a page for four minutes, how does the session object know that the visitor is still there after the visitor's page have finished loading? Also, you have a timeout period for session objects too, and as long as the session hasn't timed out, the session persists.
|
Jan =========== FR Portal Forums | Active Users 4.0.20 Mod |
|
|
chief77
Junior Member
New Zealand
114 Posts |
Posted - 09 September 2002 : 04:50:32
|
hmm.. with the vBulletin's active users, they are setup to use session.object too. and it is important to show that only instance of who are on the site. The application.object will have a variable to store the value of all the current log-in users, and with each page loaded, the application.object variable "should" then able to check its value in the variable with the current active members that are current log-in or having the activities. It is more realtime to the sense that it is showing the active members of that instance.
Theoretically it will give a more realtime active members report, now if i can draft the procedures out, i might able to test the active members example. but i haven't have the time now to dig deeper into this. But i'm sure it will work. Just like any sites that able to provide a real-time update of number of visitors in a site, and with each refresh, that session.object will check for the number of visitors in that site and update its value in the application.object variable.
It will work, just need to work deeper to make it realtime.
:) Kel. |
|
|
masterao
Senior Member
Sweden
1678 Posts |
Posted - 09 September 2002 : 11:49:31
|
That way is only more accurate if you have the session object timeout set to 0. If a visitor doesn't load a page, there is no way to tell if the visitor is still on that page or if he has left the site. That problem remains with all ways that you track users on a website. I don't see the advantage to change the way to store the active user info in application objects, as it works equally well by storing it in the database (and it keeps down the number of application.objects you would otherwise have on a site with lots of concurrent visitors).
If you set the timeout value to 0 with the current version of AU 4.0, every time a visitor loads a page, he will be a new visitor. That doesn't differ much from using sessions and having set the timeout value for sessions to 0 (which could seriously affect the performance of the webserver). The downside to this, is that the site will only rarely have more than one visitor, as you have to load active_users.asp at the exact same time as a visitor loads a page.
The way that AU 4.0 works is, in my opinion, the best way to track active users and not affect the performance of the webserver in a negative way.
|
Jan =========== FR Portal Forums | Active Users 4.0.20 Mod |
|
|
neokn
Starting Member
13 Posts |
Posted - 09 September 2002 : 15:57:02
|
quote: Microsoft JET Database Engine error '80040e14'
Syntax error (missing operator) in query expression 'MEMBER_ID ='.
/forum/inc_func_common.asp, line 61
I keep having this error |
|
|
masterao
Senior Member
Sweden
1678 Posts |
Posted - 10 September 2002 : 05:37:23
|
neokn, could you post a link to a text-version of your inc_func_common.asp? That would help in trying to find this bug.
|
Jan =========== FR Portal Forums | Active Users 4.0.20 Mod |
|
|
Shadster
Starting Member
5 Posts |
Posted - 11 September 2002 : 14:55:25
|
Hi I wonder if anyone can help me with this query. I have the latest version of the forums (3.4.02) and I am trying to get the active users mod to work. I have installed it just as it says in the readme and I get the following error:
quote: Microsoft VBScript runtime error '800a000d'
Type mismatch: 'fLang'
/testforum/admin_home.asp, line 131
I have zero asp knowledge and have no idea what this means or how I might fix it.
Can anyone give me a clue or direct me to someone/where I can get help from.
Cheers
Shadster |
|
|
masterao
Senior Member
Sweden
1678 Posts |
|
DJ5A
Junior Member
163 Posts |
Posted - 12 September 2002 : 09:00:06
|
Hello:
I'm Wanting to Change the Word "Total" on the Active Users Panel to Something Like "Total of Active Users Online Now" , What Would be the Easiest Way to do this? Could I just go Here: '###### Ls3k - Inc_Activeusers.asp ######' strLangMOD_Ls3kAU_00040 = "Total" And Change the Word "Total" Above to "Total of Active Users Online Now"
Or Maybe Add to the Bottom That List? strLangMOD_Ls3kAU_00120 = "Total of Active Users Online Now"
Then Going to Inc_Activeusers.asp & Changing strLangMOD_Ls3kAU_00040 to this strLangMOD_Ls3kAU_00120
Or LOL, Should I Just Give Up Trying?
Thank You for Your Time!!!!! DJ5A |
Thank You for Your Time!!!!! DJ5A |
|
|
masterao
Senior Member
Sweden
1678 Posts |
Posted - 12 September 2002 : 12:47:31
|
You shouldn't post this in this topic, you should post it in the Help: MOD Implementation forum instead.
You can use either method. The second method would be safer, if Total is used in more places than the one you want to change. Also, check so that strLangMOD_Ls3kAU_00120 isn't used for something else.
|
Jan =========== FR Portal Forums | Active Users 4.0.20 Mod |
Edited by - masterao on 12 September 2002 12:49:10 |
|
|
bobbart
Junior Member
USA
163 Posts |
Posted - 18 September 2002 : 16:36:42
|
In my old site I had a small active users section that I had included with inc_top. It would show in text who was online. And if you clicked it you would then go to the main active users info page. Is the feature in this version? |
Edited by - bobbart on 18 September 2002 16:39:13 |
|
|
masterao
Senior Member
Sweden
1678 Posts |
Posted - 18 September 2002 : 19:52:15
|
Well, sort of. With AU4, you can display the users online on your default.asp, below the forums and above the statistics. You can also choose to separate the active users part and statistics from the forum-table.
If you go my forums (link in sig), you can see how it looks when it is separated from the forum-table.
|
Jan =========== FR Portal Forums | Active Users 4.0.20 Mod |
|
|
matsd
Starting Member
Sweden
26 Posts |
Posted - 21 September 2002 : 14:19:32
|
There is however a small risk of misinterpreting this language implemetation as it says also to uncomment the case item in LangMODS_Ls3kAU4.asp which will cause an error in the 3.4 version but perhaps work in the 4.0 version provided the select case and end select items are also uncommented. For using a language file other than the default english in v3.4 you need to keep everything commented but remove the # for the english lang file and add a # for the lang file you want to use.
Mats D |
Edited by - matsd on 21 September 2002 14:21:18 |
|
|
Topic |
|