Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 Birthdate Mod V1.0
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 7

rick7165
Senior Member

USA
1094 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  13:30:51  Show Profile  Visit rick7165's Homepage
I did a examdiff on inc_functions.asp, inc_profile.asp, pop_profile.asp and nothing is diff. :(

Test Site:
EastPasco running on Huw's Code 3.3.10 SQL 2000
Need a Snitz MOD? Click Here: Snitz Mod Resource
Go to Top of Page

Aznknight
Senior Member

USA
1373 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  13:40:19  Show Profile  Send Aznknight an AOL message  Send Aznknight an ICQ Message
Good job Azaniah, I commend you for making a birthdate mod for snitz.

I have a question and a pointer for you.

1) Calculateing starsign and birthstone is easy because it's consistent. But how are you calculating Chinese Animal Year Sign? It's based on the lunar calendar which does not directly coincide with western Gregorian Calendar. Say I was born on jan 9th 1977, even though charts say 1977 is Year of Snake, I'm not a snake, because the Lunar(Chinese) New Year actually fall in february something of that year, so I'm a dragon. Do you understand what I'm talking about?

2) Leaving the month and year as drop down is cool but I suggest leaving the year part as a textbox. Just add some form of clientside validation. Here's a simple one I wrote:

//Validate age
var now = new Date()
var userAge = now.getFullYear() - parseInt(form.BirthYear.value);
if (userAge <= 12) {
alert("You are only " + userAge + ". Try again when you are 13.");
form.BirthYear.focus();
form.BirthYear.select();
return false;
}
if (userAge >= 80) {
alert("Your BirthYear is not in correct format. Must be 4 digits long and getter than " + (now.getFullYear() - 80));
form.BirthYear.focus();
form.BirthYear.select();
return false;
}

put that in the inc_profile page in the function:
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="javascript" TYPE="text/javascript">
function submitIt(form) { //called for NEW MEMBER's registration
if (form.Name.value == "" ) ...

if (!validEmail(form.Email2.value)) ...

.....

var now = new Date()
var userAge = now.getFullYear() - parseInt(form.BirthYear.value);
if (userAge <= 12) ....

}


hmm now that i think about it, does snitz had client side validation in the register page or was it something I added

- Alan
www.iamviet.com
Snitz Resource
Go to Top of Page

Azaniah
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1004 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  13:40:44  Show Profile  Visit Azaniah's Homepage
The only place the drop down menu is called is inc_profile.asp, and the functions in inc_functions.asp

What happens on the one that doesn't work?

Az

-------
Eagles fly!, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
Go to Top of Page

rick7165
Senior Member

USA
1094 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  13:43:49  Show Profile  Visit rick7165's Homepage
Check this out... It only happens when the person didn't have the year in before this addon.

Other words... If you put the year in before I added the drop down the drop down box works in your profile. If you didn't have a Year in before the year drop down addon when you edit your profile the drop down for the year doesn't work.

Test Site:
EastPasco running on Huw's Code 3.3.10 SQL 2000
Need a Snitz MOD? Click Here: Snitz Mod Resource
Go to Top of Page

rick7165
Senior Member

USA
1094 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  13:48:13  Show Profile  Visit rick7165's Homepage
Azaniah I have to run for a couple of hours... I made you a admin on my test site. Go edit a profile that shows a 0 for their age and you will see the drop down is blank for the year.



Test Site:
EastPasco running on Huw's Code 3.3.10 SQL 2000
Need a Snitz MOD? Click Here: Snitz Mod Resource
Go to Top of Page

Azaniah
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1004 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  14:18:27  Show Profile  Visit Azaniah's Homepage
quote:

1) Calculateing starsign and birthstone is easy because it's consistent. But how are you calculating Chinese Animal Year Sign? It's based on the lunar calendar which does not directly coincide with western Gregorian Calendar. Say I was born on jan 9th 1977, even though charts say 1977 is Year of Snake, I'm not a snake, because the Lunar(Chinese) New Year actually fall in february something of that year, so I'm a dragon. Do you understand what I'm talking about?



The lunar Calander changes each year, so you have an array that hold that info.
Eg 1.21,2.14,1.17,2.02 etc
That hold the month (1=jan,etc) and day on which the New year started. You then check to see if birthdate if before or after that date in the year, if before you use the Starsign of the previous year, etc. I read up about the 60 year cycles of branches and stems and what not.

quote:

2) Leaving the month and year as drop down is cool but I suggest leaving the year part as a textbox. Just add some form of clientside validation. Here's a simple one I wrote:

//Validate age
var now = new Date()
var userAge = now.getFullYear() - parseInt(form.BirthYear.value);
if (userAge <= 12) {
alert("You are only " + userAge + ". Try again when you are 13.");
form.BirthYear.focus();
form.BirthYear.select();
return false;
}
if (userAge >= 80) {
alert("Your BirthYear is not in correct format. Must be 4 digits long and getter than " + (now.getFullYear() - 80));
form.BirthYear.focus();
form.BirthYear.select();
return false;
}

put that in the inc_profile page in the function:
<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="javascript" TYPE="text/javascript">
function submitIt(form) { //called for NEW MEMBER's registration
if (form.Name.value == "" ) ...

if (!validEmail(form.Email2.value)) ...

.....

var now = new Date()
var userAge = now.getFullYear() - parseInt(form.BirthYear.value);
if (userAge <= 12) ....

}


hmm now that i think about it, does snitz had client side validation in the register page or was it something I added



I hadn't thought about the age validation. I'm not sure if the forum does have client side validation.

Cheers Az

(by the way I really appreciatte your coding of the events calendar now I've modded it - nice job)




-------
Eagles fly!, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
Go to Top of Page

Azaniah
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1004 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  14:22:30  Show Profile  Visit Azaniah's Homepage
OK,

To Add the bithday's on the default page do this..

(I'm gonna have to email Stim again)

Create a new file called birthdays.asp

Copy and paste this entrie code into it:



<TR>
<TD valign=top bgcolor="<% =strForumCellColor %>" colspan="<%=sGetColspan(7, 6)%>" >
<%
today = date()
currday = day(date())
currmonth = month(date())
curryear = year(date())


strSql = "SELECT " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID," & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_NAME," & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_HIDEAGE," & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_BIRTHDATE"
strSql = strSql & " FROM " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS "
strSql = strSql & " WHERE " & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_BIRTHDATE LIKE '____" & currmonth & currday &"'"
strSql = strSql & "ORDER BY (" & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.MEMBER_ID) "

set rsBirthday = my_Conn.Execute (StrSql)

If rsBIRTHDAY.Eof OR rsBIRTHDAY.Bof Then
response.write "<font face="& strForumCellColor &" size=" & strFooterFontSize & ">No Birthdays Today</font>"
Else
btoday = false
do until rsBIRTHDAY.eof
strBirthdate = rsBirthday("M_BIRTHDATE") & "000001"
strBirthdate = strToDate (strBirthdate)
Age = GetAge(strBirthdate)
If rsBirthday("M_HIDEAGE") = 0 then

if btoday = false then
Response.Write "<font face="& strForumCellColor &" size=" & strFooterFontSize & ">Todays Birthdays: </font>"
btoday = true
else
'do nothing
end if
response.write "<a href='pop_profile.asp?mode=display&id=" & rsBIRTHDAY("Member_ID") & "'><font face="& strForumCellColor &" size=" & strFooterFontSize & ">" & rsBIRTHDAY("M_NAME") & "</a>" & "(" & age & "), </font>"

else
'do nothing
End if

rsBIRTHDAY.movenext
loop
End if

rsBIRTHDAY.close
set rsBIRTHDAY = Nothing
%>
</TD>
</TR>


In Default.asp

Look for:
<!--#include file="online.asp"-->

Add:
<!--#include file="birthdays.asp"-->
on the line before it:

Then look for:

Response.Write "5"
else
Response.Write "4"

Change to:

Response.Write "6"
else
Response.Write "5"


Thats all there is to it.

CHeers Az

-------
Eagles fly!, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
Go to Top of Page

Azaniah
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1004 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  14:31:12  Show Profile  Visit Azaniah's Homepage
Rick,

Add the line in red to the following function. That fixes it.


Function Date_FillBoxWithYears( nDefault )
if nDefault = "Year" then nDefault = 0
nDefault = Cint(nDefault)
Dim nYear
nDefault = Cint(nDefault)


Cheers Az

-------
Eagles fly!, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
Go to Top of Page

Aznknight
Senior Member

USA
1373 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  14:39:31  Show Profile  Send Aznknight an AOL message  Send Aznknight an ICQ Message
quote:

The lunar Calander changes each year, so you have an array that hold that info.
Eg 1.21,2.14,1.17,2.02 etc
That hold the month (1=jan,etc) and day on which the New year started. You then check to see if birthdate if before or after that date in the year, if before you use the Starsign of the previous year, etc. I read up about the 60 year cycles of branches and stems and what not.




whoa, you actually did more research on the lunar calendar system than I did! That's sweet. Can I see your code for this? oh yeah, it's already in the mod download, what am i thinking btw thanks for Referring to it as by the (politically) correct term "Lunar" because obviously "chinese" aren't the only ones that uses it .

- Alan
www.iamviet.com
Snitz Resource
Go to Top of Page

Azaniah
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1004 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  14:41:54  Show Profile  Visit Azaniah's Homepage
That's ok,

It's not solar so.. erm has to be the other one... rofl

Cheers Az

-------
Eagles fly!, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
Go to Top of Page

Aznknight
Senior Member

USA
1373 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  15:00:55  Show Profile  Send Aznknight an AOL message  Send Aznknight an ICQ Message
quote:

That's ok,

It's not solar so.. erm has to be the other one... rofl

Cheers Az

-------
Eagles fly!, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.



You know why it's Lunar right? With the lunar calendar, every 15th of the month is a full moon! Those chinese astronomers figured it all out a few thousands of years ago and made a calendar based on it! Also the moon of the 9th month, i believe is really full and big, and is celebrated as the Mid-Autumn Festival.

Also did you know that the Gregorian Calendar, the current one in use in the world, is based on Solar? It can tell you of equinoxes and solstices of the sun so it's solar!

pretty fascinating how calendar and dates came about actually

- Alan
www.iamviet.com
Snitz Resource
Go to Top of Page

Azaniah
Senior Member

United Kingdom
1004 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  15:04:18  Show Profile  Visit Azaniah's Homepage
So long as China doesn't start a new calander system I'm fine.

I don't want to start at year 1 again. It would muck up my array...

Yeah it's pretty amazing how these ancient people worked this all out. If it wasn't for glass and clocks the industrial revolution would probably have been in China.

Az

-------
Eagles fly!, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
Go to Top of Page

Raichelle
Junior Member

370 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  15:23:02  Show Profile
ok i uploaded my forum on 7host for now for testing
is this mod updated and completed so i can test?

Go to Top of Page

GauravBhabu
Advanced Member

4288 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  15:49:36  Show Profile
quote:
The lunar Calander changes each year, so you have an array that hold that info.
Eg 1.21,2.14,1.17,2.02 etc
That hold the month (1=jan,etc) and day on which the New year started. You then check to see if birthdate if before or after that date in the year, if before you use the Starsign of the previous year, etc. I read up about



Nice research on getting Chinese Year, Branches, stems etc

GauravBhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE! | It is difficult to IMPROVE on Perfection, There is no harm in Keep Trying.
Go to Top of Page

GauravBhabu
Advanced Member

4288 Posts

Posted - 28 November 2001 :  15:56:33  Show Profile
Here is an interesting link for Calendars used in the differenrt parts of the world.

http://emr.cs.iit.edu/home/reingold/calendar-book/first-edition-index.shtml

GauravBhabu
There is only one miracle...That is LIFE! | It is difficult to IMPROVE on Perfection, There is no harm in Keep Trying.
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 7 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.2 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07