Author |
Topic  |
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 11 October 2000 : 11:16:58
|
I developed this dinky little script originally for linking to other domains from my main site, but I figured it could be used in snitz somehow, ASP is down on my server right now, so I cant begin to try to implement it.
I figured maybe use something like this instead of opening in new window for every link... I got the idea from hotmail heh heh, but I assume its way more simple than there script is, yet it does the same thing... people over do it sometimes when writing scripts. I'm just learning, all I know is how to submit form data to an asp page, how to show that form data, how to use variables in some ways, and if then else statments. thats all I know!
Link.asp ------------- usage -- link.asp?view=link&goto=http://whatever.com
Source --------
<%pageview = request("view")%> <% if pageview = "" then %> You reached this page by mistake, please click <a href="http://yoursite.com">here</a> to return to AoKingdom Hosting services <% end if %> <% if pageview = "link" then %> <%pageid = request("goto")%> <FRAMESET ROWS="7%,*"> <FRAME NAME="top" SRC="link.asp?view=top&link=<%=pageid%>"> <FRAME NAME="link" SRC="<% =pageid %>"> </FRAMESET> <% end if %> <%if pageview = "top" then%> <%pagelink = request("link")%> <body bgcolor="black" text="white" link="lime" vlink="yellow"> <strong>You have left (YOUR SITE);</strong> <a href="http://yoursite.com/default.asp" target="_top">Back to Your site</a> | <a href="<%=pagelink%>" target="_top">Close Frame</a> <%end if%>
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery --
Edited by - da_stimulator on 11 October 2000 11:20:41
Edited by - da_stimulator on 11 October 2000 11:27:34 |
|
Reinsnitz
Snitz Forums Admin
    
USA
3545 Posts |
Posted - 11 October 2000 : 15:17:24
|
I don't know if we want to throw this in the mix.
It might be viewed as the webmaster trying to have more control over the user than we want... thoughts?
<center>Reinsnitz (Mike) <font color=red>><)))'></font id=red>
<font color=green>"Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. All men will know that you are my disciples if you love one another." --John 13:34-35</font id=green></center> |
 |
|
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 11 October 2000 : 15:48:34
|
I dunno if my thoughts count but... by opening a new window, you keep the forum open when someone clicks on a link. using the script you can optionally close the window or return to the forum.
I'm not tryin to push, just defending my pathetic excuse for a script :P
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery -- |
 |
|
Davio
Development Team Member
    
Jamaica
12217 Posts |
Posted - 11 October 2000 : 16:03:33
|
Well, according to this post Dave said he had it as an admin option for v3.0, but he will see what he can do for v3.1. Don't think we need a script for it...just to change the target attribute on the links depending on what the admin chose for it in the options.
"What part of 'Thou Shalt Not Kill' don't you understand?" - God |
 |
|
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 14:53:42
|
I agree with davio... maybe in the admin area under 'features' or something, have 4 options.
Option 1: open link in new window Option 2: open link in same window Option 3: open link in target window (specify) Option 4: open link in same window with frame (my script)
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery -- |
 |
|
Reinsnitz
Snitz Forums Admin
    
USA
3545 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 15:30:07
|
Da,
You have a very cool script... no code is ever pathetic...
I'm just trying to get some input from folks about it... nothing more :) There are pro's and Con's to everything, and we're trying to develop a product that is considered usefull to everyone, and not just a few.
<center>Reinsnitz (Mike) <font color=red>><)))'></font id=red>
<font color=green>It's not a bug, it's a feature.</font id=green></center> |
 |
|
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 15:37:03
|
I understand the pro's and cons thing, but I still think my script's pathetic. heh heh, after I learn asp I'm gonna learn php/mysql. so I will have the unix side and the nt side covered for databases. now I'm rambling. If I put my mind and time into it, I could probably create a cool script. Now back to studying ASP for dummies :P
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery --
Edited by - da_stimulator on 12 October 2000 15:37:59 |
 |
|
Reinsnitz
Snitz Forums Admin
    
USA
3545 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 15:41:30
|
well... lets call it a "simple" script... becaus the concept is very cool... it's just a matter of wheather or not it's appropriate for the forum :)
The more I think about it... the more I think it's a good idea... especialy if the Administrator has set the links to "Open in the same window" that way there is always a way back to the forums.
<center>Reinsnitz (Mike) <font color=red>><)))'></font id=red>
<font color=green>It's not a bug, it's a feature.</font id=green></center> |
 |
|
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 15:45:08
|
ok, I'll settle for 'simple' :) like I said, I originally had it for linking off my main site (which is down because the server has ASP priority at LOWEST, and they wont do anything about it... maybe cuz they are finally installing a separate box with SQL server on it... they're just busy I guess) well anyway. I just figured I'd suggest it. even without it, an option in the admin section would be nice, whether to open links in a new window or not.
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery -- |
 |
|
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 15:49:53
|
BTW, I noticed your signature changes from day to day, do you do that manually or is it automated? on one reply you have a passage from the bible, on the next two (from the same day) you have 'its not a bug, its a feature'.
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery -- |
 |
|
Reinsnitz
Snitz Forums Admin
    
USA
3545 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 15:54:59
|
nope... I do it manualy :)
Usualy I try to find something inspireing from Aberham Lincoln's Daily Devotional, or something of the founding fathers (since nearly all of them where christians)... caus I think they are realy cool people, and I like to carry their message on... and heck... I like to be inspirational... and it's who I am :)
This one is just a very temporary sig
<center>Reinsnitz (Mike) <font color=red>><)))'></font id=red>
<font color=green>It's not a bug, it's a feature.</font id=green></center> |
 |
|
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 15:59:14
|
ok, thats cool. heh heh, I was hoping it was automated, if it was I would ask for the script to use a 'quote of the day' on my site, but I'm sure I can find something from Aspin.com.
maybe I should change my sig day to day...
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery -- |
 |
|
Reinsnitz
Snitz Forums Admin
    
USA
3545 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 16:02:50
|
<img src=icon_smile.gif border=0 align=middle> Yea... there are a few scripts arround that do quote changing... or you could just use a random quote generator, for every load of your web page, not just each day... and have a DB or TXT file that have a big list of quotes... and rotate them through!
I change my sig more often, caus I post more often than most :) Just variety :)
<center>Reinsnitz (Mike) <font color=red>><)))'></font id=red>
<font color=green>It's not a bug, it's a feature.</font id=green></center> |
 |
|
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 16:06:34
|
thats cool... well I updated the script so the site title and link are variables, so you only have to change them once instead of sifting through the script, this can easily be changed <b>if</b> it is implemented to fit the forum title and forum link from the database.
<%pageview = request("view")%> <%title = "Site Title here" %> <%sitelink = "Site link here" %> <% if pageview = "link" then %> <%pageidnum = request("goto")%> <FRAMESET ROWS="7%,*"> <FRAME NAME="glame" SRC="link.asp?view=top&link=<%=pageidnum%>"> <FRAME NAME="link" SRC="<% =pageidnum %>"> </FRAMESET> <% end if %> <%if pageview = "top" then%> <%pagelink = request("link")%> <body bgcolor="black" text="white" link="lime" vlink="yellow"> <strong>You have left <%=title%>;</strong> <a href="<%=sitelink%>" target="_top">Back to <%=title%></a> | <a href="<%=pagelink%>" target="_top">Close Frame</a> <% end if %> <%if pageview = "" then %> You Reached this page by mistake, please click <a href="<%=sitelink%>" target="_top">here</a> to return to <%=title%> <%end if%>
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery -- |
 |
|
Reinsnitz
Snitz Forums Admin
    
USA
3545 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 16:28:27
|
just so you know, it's more server intensive to switch in and out of <% %>
it's equaly server intensive to do a seriese of Response.Write's for each line...
recomendation, do one Response.Write =, and then do & _ after each line that is written... and then you end up with one big page inside of one set of <% %>
<center>Reinsnitz (Mike) <font color=red>><)))'></font id=red>
<font color=green>It's not a bug, it's a feature.</font id=green></center> |
 |
|
Da_Stimulator
DEV Team Forum Moderator
    
USA
3373 Posts |
Posted - 12 October 2000 : 16:32:33
|
so your saying something like this would be more efficient
<%pageview = request("view") title = "Site Title here" sitelink = "Site link here" if pageview = "link" then pageidnum = request("goto")%> <FRAMESET ROWS="7%,*"> <FRAME NAME="glame" SRC="link.asp?view=top&link=<%=pageidnum%>"> <FRAME NAME="link" SRC="<% =pageidnum %>"> </FRAMESET> <% end if if pageview = "top" then pagelink = request("link")%> <body bgcolor="black" text="white" link="lime" vlink="yellow"> <strong>You have left <%=title%>;</strong> <a href="<%=sitelink%>" target="_top">Back to <%=title%></a> | <a href="<%=pagelink%>" target="_top">Close Frame</a> <% end if if pageview = "" then %> You Reached this page by mistake, please click <a href="<%=sitelink%>" target="_top">here</a> to return to <%=title%> <%end if%>
-- http://aokingdom.com -- head webmaster/creator
-- He who has never made a mistake, has never made a discovery --
Edited by - da_stimulator on 12 October 2000 16:33:50 |
 |
|
Topic  |
|