Author |
Topic |
Bob Dobbs
Starting Member
USA
29 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 02:48:21
|
I just logged in as admin and I still get a blank page when both going from the Mod Commander and directly.
???
-Dobbs
|
|
|
animedj
Junior Member
USA
190 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 12:22:41
|
Bob, find the following line in slash_admin.asp :
If Session(strCookieURL & "Approval") = "15916941253" then
and change it for this:
if true then
With this we are forcing to show the admin page for the moment. Also what's the version of forum that you are using??
--- Johann Reyes http://animedj.com |
|
|
Bob Dobbs
Starting Member
USA
29 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 15:24:15
|
Ok, great. That worked. I can now bring up the admin page.
I am using Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.1 SR4.
Now to finally give this thing a good work out . I'll let you know how it turns out.
Thanks a million. -Dobbs |
|
|
Bob Dobbs
Starting Member
USA
29 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 15:31:33
|
I ran the admin in debug mode and it's pointint to a /forums/ directory, which I don't use because the forum is actually the root. I can't seem to find where to change that.
-Dobbs
|
|
|
animedj
Junior Member
USA
190 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 15:40:47
|
k.. that's the problem, you need to go to your admin screen and go to Main Forum Configuration and then change this option
Forum URL : http://{your site}/forums/
for
Forum URL : http://{your site}/
That should solve that problem
--- Johann Reyes http://animedj.com |
|
|
Bob Dobbs
Starting Member
USA
29 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 15:56:11
|
Ok, I changed the values, but the debug still returns that it is looking for /forums/.
Hmm.
Update: In the Forum Variables through the admin, I see this:
/strForumURL - http://192.168.0.2:8080/
Which is correct. If I scroll down further I see this:
/mods/strForumURL -http://192.168.0.2:8080/forums/
So while making the change fixed the normal forum url, it didn't change the /mods/ forum url.
So, I guess you know what my next question is. How do I change that?
Almost there. I can smell the first vapors of success.
-Dobbs
Edited by - Bob Dobbs on 15 June 2001 17:12:28 |
|
|
animedj
Junior Member
USA
190 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 17:10:09
|
hmm.. what versionof SLash are you using?? 3 or 2??
--- Johann Reyes http://animedj.com |
|
|
Bob Dobbs
Starting Member
USA
29 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 17:14:00
|
quote:
hmm.. what versionof SLash are you using?? 3 or 2??
Version 3, slashMod3_alpha.zip which I downloaded from your site.
-Dobbs
ps: I updated my last message with some info.
|
|
|
Bob Dobbs
Starting Member
USA
29 Posts |
Posted - 15 June 2001 : 17:21:13
|
OMG. I got it to work. I was making a monumental error by not including <%= slash() %> under the include.
It appears to be working like a champ. Wow. What a great mod.
This, combined with the earlier request of allowing only Mods on up to show their posts makes an excellent news posting system.
Thanks a whole bunch more than I can possibly relate in text.
-Dobbs
|
|
|
Astralis
Senior Member
USA
1218 Posts |
Posted - 12 July 2001 : 02:32:35
|
It seems I've been having the same problem as Bob. I have the newest version and I can't open slash_admin. In the admin section, it automatically directs me to forum/slash_admin.asp when it's really in forum/mods/slash_admin.asp.
Also, what is the difference between Include Virtual and Include File? Can I use either? The reason is I already have Include File config. Must I make an Include Virtual config or will the former be sufficient?
I've read conflicting comments about this: <%= slash() %>. What is the correct call formula?
Thanks for reading this.
Clint Gillespie
|
|
|
animedj
Junior Member
USA
190 Posts |
Posted - 12 July 2001 : 12:38:58
|
well, in my case I prefer a virtual call as it doesn't matter where you called the file it's just calling the file in a certain location.. and the call formula is : <% slash() %>
And about logging into the admin.. i can't think why is redirecting you... because the slash_admin doesn't redirect, it just doesn't show itself.
--- Johann Reyes http://animedj.com |
|
|
Bob Dobbs
Starting Member
USA
29 Posts |
Posted - 12 July 2001 : 13:19:52
|
Hi Johann,
I've been having some fun trying to modify the templates and trying different ways to implement the mod. Once again, great work. I set it up so moderators will have their posts appear where I want. But I have one other hypothetical scenario I was wondering if possible:
Let's say Karla is a moderator, her posts will show in slash, but I don't want ALL her posts to appear. I'd like to designate a certain forum for that. So if Karla posts a topic in "Articles" then it would appear, but if she posts a topic in "Music" then it wouldn't appear in slash.
Possible?
Thanks, dude.
-Dobbs |
|
|
Astralis
Senior Member
USA
1218 Posts |
Posted - 12 July 2001 : 18:16:49
|
I'm having problems getting the Slash Mod up. Is there a site where I can go that lists step-by-step instructions besides animeDJ.com?
I have followed the instructions and have put up the mod a few times. Other people have told me that it takes forever to get it installed.
Is there anywhere with step-by-step instructions? That way, I can see if I'm causing the problem or if it's with the code.
|
|
|
animedj
Junior Member
USA
190 Posts |
Posted - 13 July 2001 : 02:38:04
|
Bob - If it's the way I'm thinking is possible, but I would like a much better detailed scenario so I can tell you how to do it.
Astralis - Other than the one in AnimeDj I don't think so, sorry, but that's one of my biggest flaws, and it's that I really suck at documentation, so if anyboday that has this mod working and is good at documentation and would like to write the steps to install it, I would really appreciate that.
But for the moment, if you got ICQ, you can contact me at 10991599, just sent me a quick note that you need help installing the mod, and I'll do my best to help you throught the installation.
--- Johann Reyes http://animedj.com |
|
|
Bob Dobbs
Starting Member
USA
29 Posts |
Posted - 13 July 2001 : 03:07:03
|
quote:
Bob - If it's the way I'm thinking is possible, but I would like a much better detailed scenario so I can tell you how to do it.
I got it to work by doing this in slash.asp:
strCustomSQL = " and FORUM_MEMBERS.M_LEVEL > 1 and FORUM_FORUM.FORUM_ID = 5 "
This will insure that anyone above a level 1 who posts in the forum with an ID of 5 will have their posts show up in the slash function where I inserted it.
But now I encountered a rather unique problem. I created a new forum specifically for this purpose (for people to post to the front page via slashmod). It has a forum ID of 19. When I input that forum id into the code I described above, the slash just returns the template and not the actual text it's supposed to be outputting.
Is there some limitation in the mod that won't allow anything higher than a forum id of 10 to be used? The reason I got to 19 was the auto number sequence of the database and my trial and error to try and get it to work.
Any thoughts?
|
|
|
Topic |
|