Snitz Forums 2000
Snitz Forums 2000
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 All Forums
 Snitz Forums 2000 MOD-Group
 MOD Add-On Forum (W/Code)
 MOD: SuperSearch : Super Enhanced Snitz Search
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 6

mfindlay
Junior Member

USA
144 Posts

Posted - 09 July 2001 :  14:36:41  Show Profile  Visit mfindlay's Homepage
quote:

What does the 'Replies' column do
It never displays anything.....

Sylvain Amyot
http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum




I probably should have removed the replies column altogether since I don't use it, but I wanted to leave the code as untouched as possible. The column is unused since the search results is showing (for the most part) replies, which do not have a reply count. If you think it might be misleading etc., it would be an easy matter to remove the word "Replies" from the column header when displaying the results of a search.

Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 10 July 2001 :  20:26:38  Show Profile
hi mfindlay have you figured out how to do this yet?
quote:

quote:

mfindlay
i got another question for you

i installed the poll mod, i want it to display [Poll] after the subject if the topic is a poll, where should i add the code?

thanks





I'll check it out and get back to you.





Go to Top of Page

mfindlay
Junior Member

USA
144 Posts

Posted - 10 July 2001 :  23:27:37  Show Profile  Visit mfindlay's Homepage
quote:

hi mfindlay have you figured out how to do this yet?
quote:

quote:

mfindlay
i got another question for you

i installed the poll mod, i want it to display [Poll] after the subject if the topic is a poll, where should i add the code?

thanks





I'll check it out and get back to you.









I got hit with several bugs in my other mods just when I posted this before, sorry it slipped my mind! Looking at it now I have a quick question for you. Where do you want to display [Poll]? In the search results (where all the individual lines are displayed with their hyperlinks)? I assume this is where you mean, so that when the line that today would read:

the topic TEST TOPIC had these hits....

would then read:

the topic TEST TOPIC [poll] had these hits...

Is this where you mean?

Go to Top of Page

samyot
Junior Member

Canada
242 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2001 :  15:54:10  Show Profile  Visit samyot's Homepage  Send samyot a Yahoo! Message
I use to have the old search form imbedded in my main page which is all html. How can I do the same with SuperSearch ?

When I hit 'Search', it only brings me to the search page on doesn't perform the search

This is my code that worked with the old search page:
 <form action="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp?mode=DoIt" method="post">
<font size="3" class="blue" COLOR="blue"><b>Forum Search</b></font>
<input size=15 name="search"><br>
<font face="arial,helvetica" size="1"><a href="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp" target="main"><b>ADVANCED SEARCH</b></a></font>
<input type=submit value="Search">
</form>


That a look at site for example

Sylvain Amyot
FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum
HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/
Go to Top of Page

mfindlay
Junior Member

USA
144 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2001 :  16:30:22  Show Profile  Visit mfindlay's Homepage
quote:

I use to have the old search form imbedded in my main page which is all html. How can I do the same with SuperSearch ?

When I hit 'Search', it only brings me to the search page on doesn't perform the search

This is my code that worked with the old search page:
 <form action="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp?mode=DoIt" method="post">
<font size="3" class="blue" COLOR="blue"><b>Forum Search</b></font>
<input size=15 name="search"><br>
<font face="arial,helvetica" size="1"><a href="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp" target="main"><b>ADVANCED SEARCH</b></a></font>
<input type=submit value="Search">
</form>


That a look at site for example

Sylvain Amyot
FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum
HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/




I just tried a search from http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp and it worked fine. Did you find your problem?


Go to Top of Page

mfindlay
Junior Member

USA
144 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2001 :  16:33:02  Show Profile  Visit mfindlay's Homepage
quote:

I use to have the old search form imbedded in my main page which is all html.



Do you have the latest download of Supersearch? I visited your page and ran the search but the search results were not color coded. This is a feature in a later version of SuperSearch.

Just curious.

Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2001 :  16:38:44  Show Profile
quote:


I got hit with several bugs in my other mods just when I posted this before, sorry it slipped my mind! Looking at it now I have a quick question for you. Where do you want to display [Poll]? In the search results (where all the individual lines are displayed with their hyperlinks)? I assume this is where you mean, so that when the line that today would read:

the topic TEST TOPIC had these hits....

would then read:

the topic TEST TOPIC [poll] had these hits...

Is this where you mean?





yea like that

Go to Top of Page

mfindlay
Junior Member

USA
144 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2001 :  17:04:29  Show Profile  Visit mfindlay's Homepage
quote:

quote:


I got hit with several bugs in my other mods just when I posted this before, sorry it slipped my mind! Looking at it now I have a quick question for you. Where do you want to display [Poll]? In the search results (where all the individual lines are displayed with their hyperlinks)? I assume this is where you mean, so that when the line that today would read:

the topic TEST TOPIC had these hits....

would then read:

the topic TEST TOPIC [poll] had these hits...

Is this where you mean?





yea like that




If you wanted to add the [poll] identifier you will need to do something along the following lines:

1) Locate the point in search.asp where "the topic .... had these hits". So look through search.asp for "had these hits". In my copy it is on lines 1793 and 1815.

At the point where you want the string: [poll] to appear insert the following code:

<% if rs("TOPIC_ID") = strActivePoll then %> [poll] <% end if %>


Go to Top of Page

rrabago
Starting Member

4 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2001 :  20:32:44  Show Profile
Hello:

For the life of me I'm having a heck of a time modifying my search.asp and topic.asp files to work with SUPERSEARCH MOD code.

I have commented out all reference of AVATAR in the Topic.asp page since I do not have this MOD installed.

'strSql = strSql & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_AVATAR_URL

The Topic.asp page seems to be working properly when switching back and forth from the modified search.asp and my original search.asp


I'm running into problems modifying my Search.asp with the SUPERSEARCH MOD. Can someone get me going and send me over a copy of a bare bone search.asp and topic.asp that is working to get me going?

I do not have any MODS installed besides Polls. In the mean time I'll keep trying!

Thanks!
-Ricardo



Edited by - rrabago on 11 July 2001 20:35:13
Go to Top of Page

mfindlay
Junior Member

USA
144 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2001 :  20:48:44  Show Profile  Visit mfindlay's Homepage
quote:

Hello:

For the life of me I'm having a heck of a time modifying my search.asp and topic.asp files to work with SUPERSEARCH MOD code.

I have commented out all reference of AVATAR in the Topic.asp page since I do not have this MOD installed.

'strSql = strSql & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_AVATAR_URL

The Topic.asp page seems to be working properly when switching back and forth from the modified search.asp and my original search.asp


I'm running into problems modifying my Search.asp with the SUPERSEARCH MOD. Can someone get me going and send me over a copy of a bare bone search.asp and topic.asp that is working to get me going?

I do not have any MODS installed besides Polls. In the mean time I'll keep trying!

Thanks!
-Ricardo



I only have the Poll mod installed in the sample search.asp page included in the zipfile so you should be able to use that file in its entirety. Have you tried just replacing your current search.asp with the one included in the zipfile?

Feel free to send me your search.asp page and I will take a look at it. (send it to the email address in my profile).

Go to Top of Page

Freeman II
Junior Member

232 Posts

Posted - 11 July 2001 :  22:59:09  Show Profile
it works! thanks mfindlay

Go to Top of Page

samyot
Junior Member

Canada
242 Posts

Posted - 12 July 2001 :  08:02:26  Show Profile  Visit samyot's Homepage  Send samyot a Yahoo! Message
quote:

quote:

I use to have the old search form imbedded in my main page which is all html. How can I do the same with SuperSearch ?

When I hit 'Search', it only brings me to the search page on doesn't perform the search

This is my code that worked with the old search page:
 <form action="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp?mode=DoIt" method="post">
<font size="3" class="blue" COLOR="blue"><b>Forum Search</b></font>
<input size=15 name="search"><br>
<font face="arial,helvetica" size="1"><a href="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp" target="main"><b>ADVANCED SEARCH</b></a></font>
<input type=submit value="Search">
</form>


That a look at site for example

Sylvain Amyot
FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum
HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/




I just tried a search from http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp and it worked fine. Did you find your problem?



The search page works great! That's not my problem. The problem is searching from this page http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/

When I enter a word and hit search (from http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/), it doesn't perform the search, it only displays the search page. This used to work with the original search page but since the code has changed using SuperSearch it doesn't. Can anybody tell me how to make this work ?

Sylvain Amyot
FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum
HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/
Go to Top of Page

mfindlay
Junior Member

USA
144 Posts

Posted - 12 July 2001 :  11:24:47  Show Profile  Visit mfindlay's Homepage
quote:


The search page works great! That's not my problem. The problem is searching from this page http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/

When I enter a word and hit search (from http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/), it doesn't perform the search, it only displays the search page. This used to work with the original search page but since the code has changed using SuperSearch it doesn't. Can anybody tell me how to make this work ?




Oh I see, well that would just be an issue with whatever file that abbreviated search is in. It's outside the scope of SuperSearch, but send that file to me and I'll take a look at it for you if you like. My email address is in my profile.

Edited by - mfindlay on 12 July 2001 11:25:14
Go to Top of Page

samyot
Junior Member

Canada
242 Posts

Posted - 12 July 2001 :  11:35:26  Show Profile  Visit samyot's Homepage  Send samyot a Yahoo! Message
The code is above your post. This is what is in my main page.

Sylvain Amyot
FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum
HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/
Go to Top of Page

samyot
Junior Member

Canada
242 Posts

Posted - 12 July 2001 :  13:44:20  Show Profile  Visit samyot's Homepage  Send samyot a Yahoo! Message
I see, well this is behond me, thanks anyways.

It did work with the original search.asp and I realize there is more info passed to the search.asp page, I thought it was as simple as using the 'hidden' type of the input tag and passing the required info that way. Sounds like a lot of coding, which I am not familiar with.....

Sylvain Amyot
FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum
HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/


Edited by - samyot on 12 July 2001 13:50:49
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 6 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Previous Page | Next Page
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Jump To:
Snitz Forums 2000 © 2000-2021 Snitz™ Communications Go To Top Of Page
This page was generated in 0.16 seconds. Powered By: Snitz Forums 2000 Version 3.4.07