Author |
Topic |
mfindlay
Junior Member
USA
144 Posts |
Posted - 09 July 2001 : 14:36:41
|
quote:
What does the 'Replies' column do It never displays anything.....
Sylvain Amyot http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum
I probably should have removed the replies column altogether since I don't use it, but I wanted to leave the code as untouched as possible. The column is unused since the search results is showing (for the most part) replies, which do not have a reply count. If you think it might be misleading etc., it would be an easy matter to remove the word "Replies" from the column header when displaying the results of a search.
|
|
|
Freeman II
Junior Member
232 Posts |
Posted - 10 July 2001 : 20:26:38
|
hi mfindlay have you figured out how to do this yet?
quote:
quote:
mfindlay i got another question for you
i installed the poll mod, i want it to display [Poll] after the subject if the topic is a poll, where should i add the code?
thanks
I'll check it out and get back to you.
|
|
|
mfindlay
Junior Member
USA
144 Posts |
Posted - 10 July 2001 : 23:27:37
|
quote:
hi mfindlay have you figured out how to do this yet?
quote:
quote:
mfindlay i got another question for you
i installed the poll mod, i want it to display [Poll] after the subject if the topic is a poll, where should i add the code?
thanks
I'll check it out and get back to you.
I got hit with several bugs in my other mods just when I posted this before, sorry it slipped my mind! Looking at it now I have a quick question for you. Where do you want to display [Poll]? In the search results (where all the individual lines are displayed with their hyperlinks)? I assume this is where you mean, so that when the line that today would read:
the topic TEST TOPIC had these hits....
would then read:
the topic TEST TOPIC [poll] had these hits...
Is this where you mean?
|
|
|
samyot
Junior Member
Canada
242 Posts |
Posted - 11 July 2001 : 15:54:10
|
I use to have the old search form imbedded in my main page which is all html. How can I do the same with SuperSearch ?
When I hit 'Search', it only brings me to the search page on doesn't perform the search
This is my code that worked with the old search page: <form action="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp?mode=DoIt" method="post"> <font size="3" class="blue" COLOR="blue"><b>Forum Search</b></font> <input size=15 name="search"><br> <font face="arial,helvetica" size="1"><a href="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp" target="main"><b>ADVANCED SEARCH</b></a></font> <input type=submit value="Search"> </form>
That a look at site for example
Sylvain Amyot FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/
|
|
|
mfindlay
Junior Member
USA
144 Posts |
Posted - 11 July 2001 : 16:30:22
|
quote:
I use to have the old search form imbedded in my main page which is all html. How can I do the same with SuperSearch ?
When I hit 'Search', it only brings me to the search page on doesn't perform the search
This is my code that worked with the old search page: <form action="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp?mode=DoIt" method="post"> <font size="3" class="blue" COLOR="blue"><b>Forum Search</b></font> <input size=15 name="search"><br> <font face="arial,helvetica" size="1"><a href="http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp" target="main"><b>ADVANCED SEARCH</b></a></font> <input type=submit value="Search"> </form>
That a look at site for example
Sylvain Amyot FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/
I just tried a search from http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum/search.asp and it worked fine. Did you find your problem?
|
|
|
mfindlay
Junior Member
USA
144 Posts |
Posted - 11 July 2001 : 16:33:02
|
quote:
I use to have the old search form imbedded in my main page which is all html.
Do you have the latest download of Supersearch? I visited your page and ran the search but the search results were not color coded. This is a feature in a later version of SuperSearch.
Just curious.
|
|
|
Freeman II
Junior Member
232 Posts |
Posted - 11 July 2001 : 16:38:44
|
quote:
I got hit with several bugs in my other mods just when I posted this before, sorry it slipped my mind! Looking at it now I have a quick question for you. Where do you want to display [Poll]? In the search results (where all the individual lines are displayed with their hyperlinks)? I assume this is where you mean, so that when the line that today would read:
the topic TEST TOPIC had these hits....
would then read:
the topic TEST TOPIC [poll] had these hits...
Is this where you mean?
yea like that
|
|
|
mfindlay
Junior Member
USA
144 Posts |
Posted - 11 July 2001 : 17:04:29
|
quote:
quote:
I got hit with several bugs in my other mods just when I posted this before, sorry it slipped my mind! Looking at it now I have a quick question for you. Where do you want to display [Poll]? In the search results (where all the individual lines are displayed with their hyperlinks)? I assume this is where you mean, so that when the line that today would read:
the topic TEST TOPIC had these hits....
would then read:
the topic TEST TOPIC [poll] had these hits...
Is this where you mean?
yea like that
If you wanted to add the [poll] identifier you will need to do something along the following lines:
1) Locate the point in search.asp where "the topic .... had these hits". So look through search.asp for "had these hits". In my copy it is on lines 1793 and 1815.
At the point where you want the string: [poll] to appear insert the following code:
<% if rs("TOPIC_ID") = strActivePoll then %> [poll] <% end if %>
|
|
|
rrabago
Starting Member
4 Posts |
Posted - 11 July 2001 : 20:32:44
|
Hello:
For the life of me I'm having a heck of a time modifying my search.asp and topic.asp files to work with SUPERSEARCH MOD code.
I have commented out all reference of AVATAR in the Topic.asp page since I do not have this MOD installed.
'strSql = strSql & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_AVATAR_URL
The Topic.asp page seems to be working properly when switching back and forth from the modified search.asp and my original search.asp
I'm running into problems modifying my Search.asp with the SUPERSEARCH MOD. Can someone get me going and send me over a copy of a bare bone search.asp and topic.asp that is working to get me going?
I do not have any MODS installed besides Polls. In the mean time I'll keep trying!
Thanks! -Ricardo
Edited by - rrabago on 11 July 2001 20:35:13 |
|
|
mfindlay
Junior Member
USA
144 Posts |
Posted - 11 July 2001 : 20:48:44
|
quote:
Hello:
For the life of me I'm having a heck of a time modifying my search.asp and topic.asp files to work with SUPERSEARCH MOD code.
I have commented out all reference of AVATAR in the Topic.asp page since I do not have this MOD installed.
'strSql = strSql & strMemberTablePrefix & "MEMBERS.M_AVATAR_URL
The Topic.asp page seems to be working properly when switching back and forth from the modified search.asp and my original search.asp
I'm running into problems modifying my Search.asp with the SUPERSEARCH MOD. Can someone get me going and send me over a copy of a bare bone search.asp and topic.asp that is working to get me going?
I do not have any MODS installed besides Polls. In the mean time I'll keep trying!
Thanks! -Ricardo
I only have the Poll mod installed in the sample search.asp page included in the zipfile so you should be able to use that file in its entirety. Have you tried just replacing your current search.asp with the one included in the zipfile?
Feel free to send me your search.asp page and I will take a look at it. (send it to the email address in my profile).
|
|
|
Freeman II
Junior Member
232 Posts |
Posted - 11 July 2001 : 22:59:09
|
it works! thanks mfindlay
|
|
|
samyot
Junior Member
Canada
242 Posts |
|
mfindlay
Junior Member
USA
144 Posts |
Posted - 12 July 2001 : 11:24:47
|
quote:
The search page works great! That's not my problem. The problem is searching from this page http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/
When I enter a word and hit search (from http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/), it doesn't perform the search, it only displays the search page. This used to work with the original search page but since the code has changed using SuperSearch it doesn't. Can anybody tell me how to make this work ?
Oh I see, well that would just be an issue with whatever file that abbreviated search is in. It's outside the scope of SuperSearch, but send that file to me and I'll take a look at it for you if you like. My email address is in my profile.
Edited by - mfindlay on 12 July 2001 11:25:14 |
|
|
samyot
Junior Member
Canada
242 Posts |
|
samyot
Junior Member
Canada
242 Posts |
Posted - 12 July 2001 : 13:44:20
|
I see, well this is behond me, thanks anyways.
It did work with the original search.asp and I realize there is more info passed to the search.asp page, I thought it was as simple as using the 'hidden' type of the input tag and passing the required info that way. Sounds like a lot of coding, which I am not familiar with.....
Sylvain Amyot FORUM:http://syltek.dingojunction.com/forum HOME:http://members.home.net/sylvainamyot/
Edited by - samyot on 12 July 2001 13:50:49 |
|
|
Topic |
|