Security issues with connection string.
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

marckmcgill

Italy
134 Posts

Posted - 29 January 2010 :  04:04:11  Show Profile
Hello everybody. As said in a parallel topic, we're converting from Access to mySQL so I'm quite new to anything implied with the use of mySQL.

I set up the connection string for mySQL and stuck open-mouthed when I saw that the username and password for the entire database has to be written in clear into the connection string.

I'm not an expert of the matter, but isn't this an open door to phishers? Can't everyone read that portion of ASP code and simply copy the username and pass of the entire database and then do whatever they want with it?

I think I'm missing something important here. Perhaps the user specified in the connection string should be restricted to only some read/write permissions and be different from the "main" user of the database?

Thank you.

Edited by - marckmcgill on 29 January 2010 04:06:41

ruirib
Snitz Forums Admin

Portugal
26364 Posts

Posted - 29 January 2010 :  04:17:46  Show Profile  Send ruirib a Yahoo! Message
Asp files can't be downloaded from the web. If someone has access to the connection string, that would mean your web server had been compromised and you would have bigger issues to deal with.

Snitz 3.4 Readme | Like the support? Support Snitz too
Go to Top of Page

HuwR
Forum Admin

United Kingdom
20577 Posts

Posted - 29 January 2010 :  04:29:13  Show Profile  Visit HuwR's Homepage
quote:
Perhaps the user specified in the connection string should be restricted to only some read/write permissions and be different from the "main" user of the database